descriptors / writers resources

What’s Trending on WordDreams

applauseIn the past quarter, I’ve posted about 40 articles on topics ranging from writer resources, how-to’s, descriptors, and opinions. During this quarter, I hit the 1 Million Visitors mark (cue the applause!) and got more comments from my community than in any other quarter.

I like to step back a few times a year and determine what readers are most interested in. WordPress makes that easy with their statistics. Here’s this period’s run-down:

  1. 51 Great Similes to Spark Imagination
  2. How to Describe Nature
  3. 178 Ways to Describe Women’s Clothing
  4. 103 Most Beautiful Words? You Decide
  5. How To Describe Noses, Mouths, Legs, and more
  6. How to Describe a Landscape
  7. 35 Weird Traits Your Characters May Have
  8. How to Describe an American–if You Aren’t
  9. How to Describe Your Character’s Home II
  10. How to Describe a Person’s Clothing


Interesting, isn’t it? All are descriptions. That tells me, writers visit my blog to hone skills, not for my opinions (which is good because I’m not terribly opinionated, and those I have, I’m happy to keep between my husband and myself and my critique group).

What do you think?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

34 thoughts on “What’s Trending on WordDreams

  1. I love your posts because they’re concise, informative and just the right reading length, Jacqui. No one subject stands out for me because I find everything you write very interesting. Congratulations on the 1 million visitors!😀


  2. Wow, Jacqui congrats on the 1 million readers! My blog receives, perhaps .1% of that number ( though I haven’t checked my WP stats ). Nearly the ‘tips & tricks’ of writing you share, I think over, and use. Thanks so very much!


  3. That’s amazing Jacqui! Well done! I wouldn’t change anything about your blog, I enjoy the variation and so obviously do your visitors from those numbers. Here’s to the next million!! Cheers (1 million glasses of champagne clinking together)


  4. WOW! Congratulations, Jacqui!! 1,000,000 visitors – that is amazing. Not surprised though. If a writer wants to know something to aid their craft, this is the site. You’re a wealth of information, but what’s so very cool is that you share and share and share. Thank you.❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly the answer Carlie Lloyd gave when asked how she succeeded so overwhelmingly at the Women’s Finals of the World Cup (soccer). Sometimes, old school is the new school.


  5. I cannot imagine having had a million visitors. I’ve been blogging for over four years and still only had 75,000 visitors so the size of your achievement is very apparent to me. Its thoroughly well deserved, in my opinion, and especially for one of the most helpful people I’ve discovered in the Blogosphere


  6. I’m grateful for any tips that help with my blogging and writing. Your WP site is one of the best when it comes to writer resources and how-to’s. One million visitors .. congratulations Jacqui


    • Thanks, Dan. Blog writing is quite different from any other style of writing I do–journalism, non-fic, novels. I get about 500 words to make a compelling argument. I’m glad it resonates with other writers.


  7. It is interesting, but I’ve got to be honest – I enjoy all your posts so found it hard to reflect on which type of post I prefer. I enjoy your reviews, your tips and tricks, thoughts on writing within your monthly IWSG. There’s great balance. Congratulations on receiving 1 million visitors. That is outstanding😀


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

