tech tips for writers

Tech Tip for Writers #71: Visit Foreign Language Google Search

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: English isn’t my first language. How do I go to Google in other languages?

A: To visit the foreign language Google search engines, type:

Then add the country extension you would like to visit.

For example, Japan is .jp, so if I typed:

…I’d get this:


Cool, hunh?

Questions you want answered? Email me at and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

More tech tips for writers:

6 Tips That Solve Half Your Tech Writing Problems

How to use Google Street View

How to Add Accents and more

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, adjunct professor of technology in education, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

17 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #71: Visit Foreign Language Google Search

  1. That is pretty cool! Thanks, Jacqui. I’m going way off point here (what’s new?) but it reminds me I should stop using google translate to speak to my French friend and relearn the language. It’s on top of my list of things to do!😀


    • When I graduated from college as a Russian major, I traveled for the summer in the USSR, bought some history books there to see how they wrote about the history I studied. It’s amazing the differences. The same idea applies to internet browsers based in foreign lands. Soon, we’ll all be one big world, but not yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve often looked up foreign languages, one of the great tools the Internet offers. Before, I had to search out someone who spoke the foreign language for which I wanted a translation – what a difficult task. Tho the one involving people involves people and is fun and interesting on its own merit.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

