tech tips for writers / writers tips

Tech Tip for Writers #75: What’s My IP Address

Tech Tips for Writers is an occasional post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

We discussed phishing earlier this week. This Tech Tip is a follow-on:

Q:I need my computer’s IP address, but I don’t know where to find it. Help!

A: Let’s start with why you might need your IP address. Here are a few reasons:

  • your Web hosting company asked you for the IP address to troubleshoot your internet connection or an email problem.
  • you fear your computer’s internet access has been hacked so want to know where it last occurred. How’s that work? My IP address is different at home than at the local free WiFi–even if I use the same computer in both places. An IP address isn’t assigned to my computer; it’s assigned to how/where I access the internet with my computer. That means, if I’m hacked, I can (in theory) track back to the hacker by the IP address they used. I did this recently when my Gmail was hacked. Gmail has a nice security function that tells you the last several locations from which you logged into your account. One was–as expected–my home IP in California. Another–the same morning–was from Turkey. Gee, I wasn’t visiting Turkey that morning or… ever.
  • link your printer (or other digital device) to your computer. Sure, it’s supposed to do this automatically, but it doesn’t always work. When you have problems, you can plug the printer IP address in (found through your printer’s menus) and manually make the connection.
  • to verify legitimacy–I constantly get alerts from MailChimp (my email newsletter tool) about activity on a particular IP address. They want me to verify it is legitimate. Since I know my IP address, I can.

There are lots of places online that provide your IP address for free, in nanoseconds. Here’s one: My IP .

More about security:

What is a ‘Hacker’

55 Interesting Intel Devices

Questions you want answered? Email me at and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

27 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #75: What’s My IP Address

  1. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #80: My Internet Stopped Working | WordDreams...

  2. I was asked my IP address the other day, Jacqui (all very legitimate) and I didn’t know it. I eventually used whatsmyip and got it😉 You learn new things all the time in this tech world of ours.


  3. Yikes about the hacking. I like that Gmail feature. I also appreciate getting emails from sensitive accounts letting me know that I logged in through another device–it’s always been me so far, but I know that I’ll get alerts if it’s someone else.


    • Oddly, Gmail didn’t notify me I’d logged in from Turkey 30 minutes after logging in from California. That sounds suspicious, doesn’t it? They did tell me there might be suspicious activity.


      • I work for a video streaming service, we use it to verify network egress IP addresses and as part of our security audits to confirm our DNS servers haven’t been hacked.
        Personally I check from time to time to see if it’s still the same just to make sure the network hasn’t been tampered with. It should be noted that sometimes my ISP does change my IP address from time to time as they modify their networks.


  4. Though you couldn’t drag me (kicking and screaming) into overcoming my tech fears, you could entice me, an inch at a time, with non-threatening bits of helpful information.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

