authors / book reviews

Book Review: The Wine and Chocolate Workout

writers workoutGood friend, Greta Boris, self-published a book called The Wine and Chocolate Workout“. Wine puts me to sleep and chocolate gives me migraines, but I wanted to support my writer buddy so asked if I could read it, maybe host her on WordDreams. I sat outside in my backyard, eating my lunch under a California sun, thinking I’d page through it and get a sense of the topic (after all, those two words have never been in the same sentence with ‘workout’ in my lifetime) before I did a deep read.

I was sold on the first page.

“It’s a book about how to change your waistline by changing your life. I want people to know they don’t have to deprive themselves, give up everything they love to eat, or do boring workouts in windowless rooms.”

And that in two sentences sums up what this book’s about: You can eat your favorite foods and still be fit.

Here are a few questions I posed to Greta as I finished the book:

Without any spoilers can you tell readers what wine and chocolate have to do with working out?Hand in Hair

The Wine and Chocolate Workout is the foodie’s health plan. In my experience, if people have to give up all their favorite things – like wine and chocolate – they’re not going to stick with any program. Wine and chocolate represent healthy decadence to me. For you maybe it’s beer and brats, or macaroni and cheese, the point is you can have your treats and be fit and healthy. Life is no fun if it’s full of deprivation.

You’ve had a few blockbuster marketing ideas as you rolled out your book. Can you tell my readers two clever gimmicks you tried that worked

I’m not sure blockbuster is the word I’d use, but I have had some sales by focusing on other businesses and vendors who work with my target market. I’ve sold the book in candy stores by putting it in the gourmet chocolate section. I sold several hundred copies to a massage chain at Mother’s Day. They put the books into a gift basket with chocolate and a massage gift card.

Some of my future plans are to send e-copies of the book to wineries that have tasting rooms and boutiques. Also, I included a resource section at the end of my book. I will be sending copies to everyone listed in that section and I’m hoping to create relationships that way.

I’m very into covers (because I’ll be looking for my own soon). I know you’ve revised your book. Did you change the cover? Why? Why not?

I did not change the cover when I revised the book. I took my book to the L.A. Book Fair a few years ago and it flew off the table. I sold seven or eight books in a half hour just because people walking by were attracted to the cover and the title. Having a cover professionally designed is huge. I also recommend looking at the bestselling books in your genre or category and mimicking what they’re doing.

I did change my tag line, however. The old tag line was “Eat, Drink, and Lose Weight”. The book really isn’t about losing weight. It’s about getting fit and healthy. For some that means losing weight. For others it doesn’t. My new tag line is “Sip, Savor, and Strengthen for a Healthier Life,” which I think sums up the message of the book much better.

Your book is oft-quoted as a ‘humorous approach’ to wine, chocolate and working out. Can you share some fun experiences you had as you wrote the book?

My book began as a series of lecture notes for the healthy lifestyle classes I was teaching. One of the things I learned working with people of all ages and in all stages of life is they have a lot of shame when they are not in the kind of shape they think they should be. A great antidote to shame is humor.

I loved to tell clients about the time I was teaching a kick boxing class and “upper-cutted” myself in the jaw. I saw stars. Another time I face-planted off a stability ball in front of a room full of people and came up with a swollen lip. When people realize the teacher is as big a goof as they are it gives them hope.

This reads like a workbook, with four months of specific tasks to reach your goals. Am I reading that right? Can you elaborate?

When I began my career as a personal trainer and health coach I threw all my exercise and nutritional enthusiasm at my clients in their first appointment. I wanted them to embrace a whole new way of living in an hour. As you can imagine, I lost a lot of people.

Over the years I learned that small changes you can stick with add up to big results over time. In The Wine and Chocolate Workout I’ve laid out a proven pattern for taking painless, incremental steps toward fitness.

Greta Boris, Wellness Coach for twenty plus years and now full-time writer, understands the ups and downs of life and fitness. She’s worked with people of all shapes, sizes, and ages in fitness centers, medical practices and through her own coaching business. She writes to inspire, entertain, motivate, and to be able to afford nice wine. Please visit her at and pick up free work pages for The Wine and Chocolate Workout.

If you’d like to purchase this book from Amazon, click the image below:

More on self-published authors:

A Chat with Author, CW Spooner

The Wit and Wisdom of Peter Wells

POV: Two Perspectives

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

21 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wine and Chocolate Workout

  1. I don’t drink wine but I do love chocolate, Sees chocolate to be exact. One a day is enough to lift my spirits in the evening. As my six year old says, I need something to look forward to. The book looks great and what a fantastic interview!!


    • Medeia, several of my readers have told me they keep it in the bathroom for quick reads. I’m not sure if I should be insulted or happy! But, I guess it’s whatever works. You don’t have to drink wine to use the steps laid out in the book, I just have a hard time wondering why anyone doesn’t want to🙂


    • As I read, it was clear Greta knows her stuff. If wine didn’t put me to sleep and chocolate give me migraines, I’d probably give this a try (OK, I know–those are metaphors for eat what you want and stay fit. )

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love this type of book – the educational side to it. The way it makes healthy eating fun. It’s a big hook too, the fact that, in moderation, we can eat and drink what we enjoy. I have to admit, I have a weakness for chocolate, but I’d take a Guinness over wine any day!😀


      • I hope you check it out if you think it will be a help. You can change the title to “Guinness and Chocolate” if that works for you🙂 BTW, side note, I met Daphne Guinness, heir of the beer fortune. She’s a bit of a nut, but very thin and glamorous.


  2. I’m not one for wine (or any other alcoholic beverage) but I do love chocolate, and I need desperately to get fit and healthy. I should probably look into that book; I could use all the advice I can get on the topic…


  3. Sounds like a wonderful book. I’ve always believed in the ‘everything in moderation’ mantra. Deprivation often ends up backfiring. (Except for those foods that are a person’s weakness. If they can’t stop eating them, it’s probably best to have them out of the house.🙂 )


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

