29+ Ways to Market Your Book

marketing woahsAt a recent #IWSG confab, I was whining to online friends about the difficulty of marketing my books. I got a long list of great comments, both on the blog and via emails from writers who have approaches that worked well for them.

To share these with you and then continue the conversation, I chose a Google Spreadsheet. If you’re familiar with Excel, it’s quite like that, but easier to share out and collaborate on.

Using this method, we can:

  • read about everyone’s thoughts
  • share ideas by clicking the link and adding contributions to the bottom of the spreadsheet (it’s set to share and edit)
  • repost the spreadsheet to your blog where you collect ideas from your readers. Those will automatically be shared on this same spreadsheet, meaning they’ll appear on my post here (and my readers’ contributions will appear on your blog). If we can repost this to lots of blogs, the list should become a comprehensive litany of what we writers do to get the good word out.

Here’s the link, to visit, collaborate, and reshare:

If you have comments, please add them! If you have contributions, please click through to the spreadsheet and append them to the bottom row.

More on marketing:

4 Reasons You Want a PLN and 13 Ways to Build One

Top Ten Marketing Tips for Your Ebook

5 Top Steps to Market Your Books this Summer

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

74 thoughts on “29+ Ways to Market Your Book

  1. Pingback: Two Valuable Books on Marketing Your Newly-published Book | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Commented-on Articles and Click-throughs in 2015 | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: Sunday Spotlight: WR101 – Charles E. Yallowitz | Melissa Barker-Simpson

  4. Some local stores that I frequent allowed me to put up a flyer. I had one made with the cover of my novel, a brief bio about the book as well as me, and the stores they could buy it at. I forgot to include that it was available at the library, but I’ll do that for the next one.
    Another way is to let reading and writing clubs know about it. Sometimes they want you to come talk to them also. Our local library loves to support local authors. They place a notice in the paper, so there’s usually a good audience for the signings besides those the author invites. One of the other authors brought refreshments for his. Next time I’ll do that too.
    My name is getting out there more because I have been writing for our local magazine. This may not work for everyone, but it’s still a way of getting people to take notice.


  5. Pingback: How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’ « Jacqui Murray

  6. Pingback: How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’ | WordDreams...

  7. Thanks Jacqui, so so kind of you and all those who added comments and suggestions, thank you! It’s a wonderful resource. I wish I could add something …I messed up on the spread sheet though and would have added (pale by comparison to the other’s suggestions) about ‘teasers’ – on one’s blog. Thank you and to all others. If I come up with any ideas I will pass them on.


  8. This is a phenomenal idea, Jacqui! My method is more elementary – I put sticky notes all over the place. I bet your method is much more effective. Great job, really a totally useful tactic – thank you for sharing.
    OK, now I’m trying to get it all to fit on my sticky note…..


  9. Tried to type this into the Google spread sheet but it would only do one line all across the spreadsheet (when I hit return it would go to next square)?????

    Book Party Collaborative – Invite other authors (who in turn invite their friends & family) to get together/open house. Could do short readings/talk, book signing, reduce price sale etc. Do before the holidays so books could be also bought as gifts.


  10. Fantastic! This might be the first thing I share on my website “currently under construction”. AND I’m showing it to my publisher. Well done, Jacqui!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

