writers / writing

#IWSG–Why do I get so few sales through Google Play?

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s insecurity – Why do I get more sales through Teachers Pay Teachers and Scribd than Google Play.

That doesn’t make sense, does it? TpT and Scribd are tiny compared to Google Play. Yes, I do promote TpT in my Ask a Tech Teacher sidebar, but Google Play doesn’t offer a store widget. I’d have to separately link each book (anyone know differently?).  I’ve spent more time setting up Google Play than either TpT or Scribd (it’s more complicated to me), but got much less in return.

Anyone have a similar experience? Or a different one? Does anyone sell on Google Play?

More IWSG articles:

None of My Marketing Seems to Work

Beta Reader? Or not?

Should I use my first name or an initial?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

35 thoughts on “#IWSG–Why do I get so few sales through Google Play?

  1. Pingback: #IWSG–When do you know your story is ready? | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: #IWSG–My First Piece of Writing | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: #IWSG–My Debut Novel Launches This Summer | WordDreams...

  4. Pingback: #IWSG–Another bad first draft or the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow? | WordDreams...

  5. Pingback: #IWSG–Should I do AtoZ Next Year? | WordDreams...

  6. Pingback: #IWSG–Holiday Blahs | WordDreams...

  7. I was selling fairly well at GP until last month. Yet, last month sales everywhere (except Apple) were in the crapper. I do each book to their outlets. GooglePlay isn’t the easiest to use. Which is weird. It’s Google. It should be the most straight forward. http://mpaxauthor.com


  8. I’ve hardly sold anywhere except Amazon. I’ve seen others saying they have not had any luck with Google Play though so I don’t think you are alone. It’s so hard to keep up with all of these options! I feel clueless all the time LOL.


  9. I’ve not heard from anyone who had many sales on Google Play. Either readers haven’t discovered it yet or they don’t particularly like it. We’ll have to see what happens in the years to come with it.


    • There’s actually no reason you would know them because they don’t reach out to readers about their marketplace. I was so excited when they first arrived, thinking it would be another Amazon. Not.


  10. I don’t know about any of them Jacqui – I’ve only just graduated to blogland and trying to deal with that! I’m pretty sure I’ve had no sales from Twitter, but I confess I’m not good at that really. All my sales are from fb friends – so that’s not many!


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

