book reviews

Book Review: Crude Carrier

Crude CarrierCrude Carrier

by Rex Burns

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

I can’t say I’ve ever read a book about life aboard a supertanker, which is one of the reasons I selected Rex Burns’ ‘Crude Carrier‘. When a crew member dies aboard the massive ship and the Captain provides little explanation to the family, the man’s parents ask James and Julie Raiford of the Touchstone Agency for help. James goes undercover as an electronics technician to find out what caused the son’s death while Julie follows leads on the outside by working with the tanker’s owners and the insurance company. What they find is a massive plot that threatens the lives of most of the crew, makes a small handful wealthy beyond belief, and almost gets both Raifords killed.

This is a well-constructed novel with plenty of insider information on these crude-carrying supertankers. I’ve never read a story staged on a tanker so found this fascinating. The characters are likable with enough hints about their background that I liked traveling with them and want to find out more. The plot is highly believable and perfectly paced with a good balance between constantly moving forward and leaving me breathless. Once I got started, I didn’t want to put the book down. It’s recommended for those who like a touch of learning with their fiction.

–Read for free through my Amazon Vine account

More reviews involving ships:

Master and Commander

Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailor

Trident Deception

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Crude Carrier

    • Me either. One of the characters in the second book in my series is a cruiser–a US warship, the USS Bunker Hill. I wanted to read this book to see how this sort of commercial ship compared. I found it fascinating.


  1. Sounds like it might be interesting. I know one of my favorite books ever featuring a tanker (not a super tanker) was actually about this monster that came out of the oceans and was systematically hunting the crew. Think almost like the movie “Alien” but a lot closer to home.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everything I know about supertankers, admittedly not much, is that they should sink. How does something built that way float on water? And now Rex Burns speculates that people even live on those bizarre monstrosities. Who wudda thunk it? Sounds like a compelling read.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A most unusual location for a book I agree and your well-balanced clear review is a credit to the book. I particularly like your line recommendation for those ‘who like a touch of learning with their fiction’. Know exactly what you mean and that’s me. Another one to put on my to read list!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

