#IWSG–Should I Continue My Newsletter?

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s insecurity – Do readers get anything out of my weekly newsletter?

I started thinking about this when I read efriend Glynis‘ post on this topic. It blended into a topic I’ve been mulling over for a while: What is the purpose of my newsletter? I originally started it as a way to deliver writing tips to readers. I have a weekly blog column of tips and I repackage that as a newsletter. I had thought I’d reach readers who subscribed to the newsletter and not my blog. Sounds good, sure, and the list did grow.

But I now think I’m reaching the same people as my blog does. So my newsletter readers also get the blog post and I’m sending them the same material twice.

The one point contrary to that is I get a high percent of ‘Opens’ on the newsletter–higher than the average according to Mail Chimp.

What do you think?

More IWSG articles:

Beta Reader? Or not?

Am I getting too old?

The Importance of Comments

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

60 thoughts on “#IWSG–Should I Continue My Newsletter?

  1. Pingback: #IWSG–When do you know your story is ready? | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: #IWSG–My First Piece of Writing | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: #IWSG–My Debut Novel Launches This Summer | WordDreams...

  4. Pingback: #IWSG–Should I do AtoZ Next Year? | WordDreams...

  5. Pingback: #IWSG–Holiday Blahs | WordDreams...

  6. Jacqui, you know I’m a techno troglodyte and digital doofus. I only get your blog, because I don’t do all the other Internetal options. No doubles for me, it’s all new, and I always learn from your posts. But I don’t think I’m the audience you’re addressing here. ;D

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very interesting talk! I think you should continue with both blogging and the newsletter. It’s a matter of preference, what people choose, but the option should be there. Have a lovely weekend!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s actually illegal to sign you up without your permission. I’m always cautious of that because you can get your website banned for doing that. They also should have an ‘unsubscribe’ button on them, so they won’t clutter your inbox.

      Thanks for your feedback, Stephanie!


  8. Jacqui I still struggle to give something original on my newsletter. So I decided to make it about the process of learning especially the programs and posts that help me learn. My blog is about inspiring people to appreciate the small moments. But my newsletter is more about my works in progress I guess. Lots to think about.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Quite the question, isn’t it? Are you reaching the same people twice or are some people benefiting from one or the other. I wish I could help you but the best I could offer is that I only check the blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I subscribed to a couple newsletters which aren’t much different from posts on blogs while another discusses the manuscript in progress. I enjoy the second type. I suppose newsletter is a good way to gather specific followers and of course they sign for it. Whether the readers will be much different from blog followers, I don’t know but have heard you collect specific fan of your work.❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I agree with chemistken above: newsletters offer an option. If people are more comfortable with that (maybe they read at work and it is easier to view the newsletter on their phone? maybe they check their e-mail more than their wordpress? who knows) then it gives them another place to find you. As long as it isn’t sucking your time and/or money, it’s probably good to keep it. Just my two cents🙂
    Happy IWSG day!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. An interesting discussion… newsletters could be useful to spread the word so to speak… But I think that blogs also do…. Anyway, It is all up to each one to decide, I´d say.
    Love and best wishes, dear Jacqui. Aquileana 🐼

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Great question and discussion, Jacqui. There is a tendency, it seems to me, to repeat information across social media. What I’ve started doing is using the different venues for different stuff. My newsletter is for readers and is all about books releases and promotions. My blog for writerly stuff. Twitter to share the posts of other bloggers. Pinterest to collect blogging/marketing and writing tips (many from you, by the way). It feels more efficient this way and avoids repeats.🙂 Just my two cents.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. I don’t have a newsletter, so I can’t really weigh in. But if I had one, I’d hope to attract a wide audience. If it was only my blog-followers who signed up, I’d feel like I was giving them repetitive information, or maybe sending them an additional email they maybe don’t want.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Other blogs/newsletters I follow use the newsletter primarily to announce coming workshops/sales etc. with links to their blog to get the freebies/tips.

    Newsletters can and do reach people who don’t read blogs but just want updates.

    (I’d rethink the “blogs” you write for that take up your time and there’s not a big return and keep your newsletter)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s difficult to measure the success of blog posts. With so many people reading in Readers (that don’t show up on blog stats), I can’t measure it well. I do know images draw in more readers so I always try to include those.


    • Ah, and that I can’t tell. WordPress doesn’t share emails (well, only a select few). It’s to protect privacy so I understand. I used to assume I’d have different readers of the blog and newsletter. I don’t know if that’s true, though.


  16. This is exactly what stopped me from going ahead with my newsletter, that and the fact that I need to spend time writing on my WiP. I don’t have the following you do and, for me, I figured I can just write in my blog what I’d put in a newsletter (my idea was to share what I was learning from blogs like your).😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do subscribe to several author newsletters. Some are personal info that is more about journaling than blogging. Others are pithy and robust. The latter–I choose the newsletter over visiting the blog. Different audiences? Not sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Different readers like to get their info in different ways. Some prefer RSS, some like email subscriptions, some like newsletters. If people are opening your newsletters, then I say keep the newsletter. My 2 cents.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Since I don’t sell much on my writer’s newsletter, I can’t analyze that. I originally started it so I could market upcoming novels. I still think that, though I’m a tad slow about making that happen.


  18. I’m cursed with a short attention span, so your newsletter serves the important purpose of of reminding me about your blog, without It I’d flutter off doing something else, get lost in my book for days, or some other activity. Newsletters are an important reminder for me. If a blog has good tips I don’t want to miss out on new posts. If we’ve signed up you’ve got us, so relax. ^o^

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I think, if readers are accessing the newsletter, it’s a great way to offer them the opportunity to catch up on everything they’ve missed. Even if subscribers are also faithful readers to the blog, there are times when the newsletter offers another medium and access to the tips your provide. I also think, if you get something out of it, and your readers do too, you should definitely continue🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Funny, I wrote about my mailing list today as well. I keep the content different on each, which I think helps. You have an interesting dilemma. You don’t want to force the same topic on readers, but you don’t want to lose subscribers. Gosh, I’m just not much help.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have so much to write each week, I can’t seem to find time to personalize content. If I don’t reuse it, I’d never get everything done. I wonder if that bothers people who subscribe to both? Hmm…


  21. It is a bit of a conflict, isn’t it? We have been sending business newsletters but are now thinking of converting that to a blog. The advantage we see is that of storage and availability of past posts, in case of need. A newsletter, on the other hand, is of use only while fresh. But then, a newsletter will directly hit you with a visual and the promise of something new. A blog may seem like “Oh I know what this is about” and may only reach the reader via an alert which will require an additional act on his part. So, if incremental cost and effort are insignificant, do both🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

