problem-solving / tech tips for writers / writers tips / writing

Tech Tips for Writers #94: Keyboard Shortcut for Find

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: Isn’t there a shortkey for searching a website?

A: There is. It’s Ctrl+F. It works in lots of software as well as on internet pages and PDFs. If you need to search a page for a word, it’s a great starting point.

According to a Google study in 2011, 90% of people didn’t know Ctrl+F existed. I’ve posted about it several times, on several of my blogs, so I’m doing my part to get the word out.

Among my geeky crowd (you know who I mean), it’s a verb, too: “I Ctrl+F’d that word and BOOM! Found it.”

Follow me

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

38 thoughts on “Tech Tips for Writers #94: Keyboard Shortcut for Find

  1. Pingback: Tech Tips for Writers #124: What the Heck Does ‘Print Screen’ Do? | WordDreams...

  2. Ai yi yiiiiiiiiii. I’m not technologically impaired I’m techno bereft. I can’t figure out how or where to use it.
    First you go to the website???? Then you put the word in the search box on the site and then press Command F? (I’m on a Mac)?????????????????????????????????

    It’s not working . . . Be gentle with me I’m elderly and there is such a thing as elder abuse.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In fire fox View > find for the search or keyboard shortcut. To my amazement, none of my nephews knew that enter also equals send, (Instead of clicking them with the mouse.) O.o Also Ctrl + c and highlight words to copy and Ctrl + v to paste. Pressing esc on the keyboard to stop a page from loading (good for those websites with bad coding that continues to load endlessly.)

    Hum, F11 for full screen, Ctrl + f5 for a full refresh that also clears out that tabs cookies also works on IE. (Internet Explorer.)Prt scr to make a screen shot (goes into the mouse clipboard) and can be pasted into paint/photo shop. That’s all I can remember for now.

    Liked by 3 people

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

