writers / writing

#IWSG–Holiday Blahs

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s insecurity – I’m struggling to write.

It’s the holiday–I know that. My mind is on guests and friends and festivities rather than coming up with blog posts. I usually bludgeon my way through, but this year, I think I’ll sit back and let my energy rebuild for the New Year.

Do you feel less inspired to write over the holidays? Do you fight it or give in?

More IWSG articles:

Is NaNoWriMo Important if I Don’t Care About the Word Count?

Should I Continue My Newsletter?

Why do I get so few sales through Google Play?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

57 thoughts on “#IWSG–Holiday Blahs

  1. Everyone deserves a break. Especially when there’s festivities, loved ones and wonderful food around! Stop struggling….it’ll make it worse! Just enjoy the break & come back refreshed! Unless you’re on a tight deadline…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely struggle to write during the holiday season. I’m struggling in general at the moment, so I might just take a leaf out of your book and take some time off to absorb the magic and start fresh in the new year😀 That said, I have to force myself to write sometimes, because I know from experience that if I don’t, the ‘dry spell’ will last a long time. I find it hard to get back to it. Luckily, there are prompts for short bursts of writing, which make me feel better about neglecting the novels! They’re good practice too😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I usually start new projects during the fall, spring, or summer…it’s rare for me to do so during the winter. I’ll probably just revise or edit an existing manuscript during holiday time.

    To answer your question, it’s easy to create an account on submittable.com. Both agents and writers can submit. Writers can submit with or without an agent. They just leave in the agent info if they have one. Many magazines and publishers use this website.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Holidays definitely present a challenge to my writing schedule. But I’m committed to exercising my writing muscle daiily, even if it’s just a characterization, outline, notes, or whatever. I may write less during the holiday season, but I strive to write daily.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I would love to be writing, holidays or not, but family comes first, and I just don’t have the time to fit everything in. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting ready for the holidays and sharing them with my family. I just wish I had time to write, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve been so busy with promotional things for my book’s release I’ve barely had time to work on my current WIP (or keep up with blog reading and other social media), and now Christmas is coming and I’m feeling the stress. Not sure when I’m going to get to the baking and everything else. So it’s not so much as a lack of inspiration as it is a lack of time!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have a difficult time staying focused this time of the year, but I’m going to try and press through it. I do think taking a break when the joy of writing has fizzled, is a good thing.
    Speaking of Scrivener, I purchased it a couple of months ago, but I haven’t had an opportunity to mess around with it. I’m getting a new laptop and I wonder if I can transfer the program.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 99% of what I hear about Scrivener is positive. The only reason I don’t try it is because I don’t have time to learn it! If I ever do get going with it, I’ll probably kick myself for waiting so long.


  8. I generally feel more inspired to write. I’ve got more days off from work and I usually have the mornings free. The trouble is that the family books up most of my time during the holidays, so I just end up being frustrated about not being able to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember those days. Now that kids are grown and moved across the country and I work out of the house, nothing interferes with my writing (my husband’s a saint who does all the cooking/laundry/gardening/shopping for our two-person family).

      So you’re blahs are more about frustration? I’ll go over to your blog and see what you posted for #IWSG.


  9. Welcome back, Jacqui. I hope you had a wonderful time while gone from here.
    I’ve had “the blahs” about just about everything for most of the last year, and you know why. I can’t shake myself out of it and the only thing that really gets me feeling human is being around my family.
    When I was a teenager, we had a wonderful dog. If I said to him, “Ive got the blahs,” he would jump up and lick me all over. Now I have grandkids who slather me with kisses and hugs and a hubby and adult kids who indulge and support me.
    Blogging is an activity paid only in friendship. Love the community but sometimes it isn’t what we need. There are other things in life and if we don’t experience them, we will have nothing to blog about.
    Thanks for this thoughtful topic, Jacqui.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. With family commitments, traveling and extra work do to the holidays I often don’t have time to devote to writing. and there are the blahs. I’ve always thought that deciding not to write is a positive action. I know it might sound counter intuitive but deciding not to do something is doing something. And resting is a needed activity. I guess I am saying it’s possible to actively rest.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes. So true. I have three agents/publishers who asked for the mss who I am still waiting to hear from. It’s been weeks. Still, as long as I don’t get a ‘no’, there’s more faith than failure.


  11. If the force is against you, take a break and enjoy the holiday season I think is best. Personally I was in the midst of working when my scrivener refuses to open and it’s driving me mad. Was in full flow this morning and then an hour spent trying to sort the mess, without success – blah!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh, I almost never hear problems with Scrivener. Actually, never. That’s frightening. When Word does that to me, I can usually force the issue with Open Office. I don’t know that Scrivener has an option like that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have emailed them regarding my problems and got an automatic response back saying owing to unexpected high number of tech problems they won’t be contacting me for two day!! I’ve explored all options that I can try on my own and only succeeded in locking up the computer. Grrr…patience I know. Although I have the bulk for the first draft saved elsewhere, so many of my notes and other pieces of work are on the system. I’ll need that holiday at this rate!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: #IWSG–Holiday Blahs | Mon Blog

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

