blogs / business / writers / writing

#IWSG: 2016, I Resolve…

online presenceNew Years–a time for rest, rejuvenation and repair. A time to assess life. Do I settle into my routine, enjoy where it’s headed, or is it time to grab my purse, iPhone, car keys, and get out of here?

Here are my resolutions this year. Lots of them! I break it down into Fiction (for my novel writing), Non-fiction (for my tech ed writing), and Blogs (for my four blogs):


  • Publish To Hunt a Sub. This thriller series uses science to drive the plot. The science is current, not futuristic, with extrapolations on what can be accomplished. The characters are damaged, flawed, and heroic. The plot is fast-paced, non-stop, with enough introspection to make the characters likeable. At one point almost ten years ago, I called this book completed. Now, I’m glad I took a second look. I like it much better. I’ll continue giving you updates over the next few months with a tentative plan to get it out before summer. Right now, full mss is out to a few agents, and I have a pro editing it for me. 
  • Rework the sequel to To Hunt a SubTwenty-Four Days so I can publish it in 2017. This is the second in the series. This, too, I called completed at one point. Then I edited and called it completed. Then my agent offered advice, I made changes and called it completed. Yikes! Once To Hunt a Sub is launched, I’ll go through it, fix problems, and pub! I need to move on. I won’t finish it this year, but I’ll get started, with a planned publication date of mid-next year.
  • I continue to work on my passion, Lucy: Story of Man. This is the history of man’s survival when Nature was king, as told through the eyes of two early humans. We follow them through volcanoes, predation, surviving attacks from both animal and other hominids, and trying to find somewhere that allows them to not just survive, but thrive. I am working on this sporadically. I don’t plan to focus on it until 2017.


  • Update one of my tech-in-ed books–not sure which at this point.
  • Update my K-8 technology curriculum. This won’t be out until sometime in 2016.
  • Continue working on my webinars for teachers addressing a tech-infused classroom.


  • Continue publishing 3-5 articles a week on each of my core blogs Ask a Tech Teacher, WordDreams (this blog), and USNA or Bust!
  • Expand the reach of my blogs. What worked well for me in the past is:
    • link back to blogs that address the same topic I’m writing about. You may have noticed that I often include websites that let you dig deeper into a topic. Not only does it provide more information for readers, I often find myself enriched by what I uncover as I’m coming up with just the right links
    • visit blogs that cover my topics. I do this already–love doing it–and will continue
  • Find guest bloggers for my blogs. I’ve reached out a bit, but not enough. My readers would benefit from other opinions.

What are your resolutions? What are you doing I should be? I want to learn from you.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

48 thoughts on “#IWSG: 2016, I Resolve…

  1. I’d love to say I’m going to write a new book this year, Jacqui, but I’m still hovering on the edge of that cliff😀

    You have great plans afoot and I’m really looking forward to following you (again) this year, my friend xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have three books I have written over a score of years. Once those are done, I don’t know if I have another book in me–so I know how you feel. Looking forward to following your adventures again this year, Dianne.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow..just wow, I am impressed……makes mine look just like a walk in the park…finish my first novel, do more work on my kiddies cook book called “You only “grate” your fingers once!”, meet deadline for Anthology, keep up with other blogs and Enjoy! Happy New Year😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi and Happy New Year!
    To be very honest with you, you seem to be doing a lot. I am developing a new column called Viewpoint that I am publishing on four of my blogs, and this new column gives me a lot of satisfaction.
    I wish you success in all that you undertake to do in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t mind slowing down a bit, taking time to walk around a park or play with my neighbor’s dog. But, I have that internet work ethic, honed by years of practice, that equates relaxing to lazy. I know it’s not true, but tell that to my subconscious!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jacqui, I wonder if you haven’t answered your own dilemma. This work is your form of relaxing!! I know I enjoy losing myself in writing and thoroughly enjoy following others here on WP. Walk out on a sunny day feels good though as well! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Your list makes me tired, just looking at it. Me? I’ll finish “The Trial of Trudy Castor,” the house, do a successful garden, do splits on bees until we’re up to five hives (assuming that the surviving two hives make it through the winter), and get a running start on “Victorian Rules of Grieving” (the next book in the Emma Caites series.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jacqui, your resolution list is impressive, no less than what I’d expect from you. Nor less than what I believe you’ll accomplish. You’re driven, organized, and excellent at what you do.
    For myself, I intend to query for my three adult novels, and I may reboot my own blog. You’ve given great suggestions for me to think about as well – so I will.
    OK, 2016 – roll on.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I didn’t know you were writing a science thriller. I look forward to hearing more about it.

    My main resolution this year is to better balance social media time with writing. I need to fit in more of the latter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve found socializing with other bloggers to be healthy for my writing. It’s way at the top of what I consider important. that kindred spirit thing, and there’s always someone who’s been through what I’m going through. Love it.


  7. Happy New Year, Jacqui! Wow, that’s one heck of a list you’ve got there. I’m impressed.🙂 I don’t normally do resolutions anymore, but I do make goals for myself. I have to break them down into small, manageable chunks.

    I’ll continue my writing, of course, but I’ll also have another round of physical and speech therapies available to me this year. I’m also going to take the bull by the horns and NOT let my fear of getting back behind the wheel consume me. I WILL be driving again this year. That is probably my most important goal for the upcoming year.

    Enjoy IWSG day! Hugs, Eva

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those are big goals, Lilica. Driving isn’t for the faint of heart anymore. Too much craziness out there. But, it is the only way to get from here to there. My daughter loves walking, but Mom hates her doing that in Washington DC where she lives.

      This is my long-winded way of saying, I agree with your goals!


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

