Top 10 Book Reviews in 2015

There are two parts to this post:

  • my top ten favorite books that I read in 2015
  • your (as reader) top ten favorite book reviews I wrote in 2015

My Top Ten Favorite Books

I read 161 books according to my Goodreads–blasting through my goal of 160 books.

goodreads challenge
I love reading and would prefer to do that than watch TV, go to the gym, floss my teeth, pay bills, or do the laundry. I review a lot of the books I read, usually as part of my Amazon Vine gig, but not all. The book reviews on WordDreams are only one collection. Most of them have to do with the craft of writing or fiction in my genre (loosely including, tech, mystery, thrillers). I also review books on education, the military, and general for my other blogs. I collect all of my book reviews here, but it isn’t always up to date.

I try.

When I read for fun, I often read thrillers, mysteries, and historic fiction so you’ll see a lot of those on the top ten list.


My ten favorite books that I read in 2015 (in no particular order) are as follows:

  1. The Promise by Robert Crais
  2. anything by CJ Box
  3. anything by Craig Johnson
  4. Memory Man by David Baldacci
  5. anything by Daniel Silva
  6. Jay MacClarty’s Simon Leonidovich series
  7. Keith McCafferty’s Sean Stranahan series
  8. Ann Cleeves’ Shetland Island series
  9. Brett Battles’ Jonathan Quinn series
  10. Peter Bowen’s Gabriel Du Pre series

Top Ten Book Reviews

I reviewed 27 books in 2015, everything from The Badlands to The Zigzag Girl. Overall, book reviews’ are popular on WordDreams. I understand that because I love reading reviews of books by other writers. Here are the top ten book reviews based on hits in 2015 (Note: this isn’t just book reviews written in 2015. It’s based on visits to all reviews from the last five years):

  1. Killing Pattonbooks stack isolated on white
  2. Killing Lincoln
  3. American Sniper
  4.  Meeting Prehistoric Man
  5. Desert God
  6. The Tree Where Man Was Born
  7. No Easy Day
  8. Ender’s Game
  9. Killer Angels
  10. Death Ex Machina

Since I read about three books a week, I’m always eager for new material. What’s your favorite book from 2015?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

23 thoughts on “Top 10 Book Reviews in 2015

  1. So interesting to see these top 10 lists according to you and the blog hits. I read 3 books a week, but they’re shorter since I read children’s books, MG, YA, and some novellas. I’m impressed by all the pages you get through.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It wasn’t until early last fall when I discovered Michael Connelly. He, instantly, became one of my favorite authors. I’ve read two of his books in the Lincoln Lawyer series and, as soon as I need a break from the classics, I’ll be diving into another one in this array.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I rarely buy Kindles until I’ve read all the others in my collection. Otherwise, I’d be buried too! It keeps me sane and reading every chance I get. I no longer mind waits at doctor offices because it means I get extra reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Three books a week? Wow, I’m impressed. Mysteries and thrillers are my favorite too, but I don’t get to read as many as I’d like because I get busy reading book club selections and indies. I like to try to read the books written by my online contacts, but of course, it’s impossible to get to them all.

    I’m not sure what my favorite book last year was, but the two that stand out are “The Kind Worth Killing” by Peter Swanson and “Career of Evil” by Robert Galbraith (AKA JK Rowling). I love the latter’s new detective series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Have you noticed that books–being published as ebooks–are getting shorter? I noticed it when I powered through 1.2 books in one day and couldn’t believe I read that fast. Turns out I didn’t–the books were just shorter than usual.

      I must definitely check out your two books. I love detective series. I haven’t heard much about JK Rowlings new series, so I’m intrigued.


  4. I’m with you, Jacqui. I’ll pick reading over television any day. Wow, 161 books! I’m so jealous. It seems the only time I have to read these days is while on the treadmill which I must say is a great motivator to exercise.🙂 I’m not sure I could pick a favorite book from 2015, but one I really enjoyed was Bridge of Faith.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Bridge of Faith”–I haven’t read that. I’m going to check it out. A lot of my reading is genre-specific, to see what the greats in thrillers/mysteries are doing and to motivate my writing. I did read one just for fun–Garth Stein’s “Art of Racing in the Rain”. He did a masterful job of writing from a dog’s perspective.


  5. Jacqui, now you have me thinking? My favourite book of 2015 is…no, I seriously can’t pick just one as I read so many great ones. You are amazingly busy!! 27 book reviews alone on top of your other work, read over 160 books a year! Thanks for sharing this, always interesting with a recap.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had trouble picking, too. When I find an author I love, I read everything (I still miss John MacDonald) and then it’s impossible to pick the best. The book reviews are usually part of my Amazon Vine gig. Since I must write them, it actually makes them easier to do.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Book Reviews in 2015 | musnadjia423wordpress

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

