book reviews

Book Review: Deadly Obsession

Deadly Obsession (Brown and de Luca, #4)Deadly Obsession

by Maggie Shayne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Maggie Shayne’s fourth novel in her Brown and DeLuca series,’Deadly Obsession‘, is a pleasant surprise. When I selected this book from the Amazon Vine list, I didn’t know Shayne was an NYT Best Selling Author of Paranormal, that her publisher was Harlequin, or that she has over fifty novels to her credit including several wildly popular romance series. I picked her because the heroine of ‘Deadly Obsession’ sounds like the type of kick-a** female protagonist I like to read.

Deadly Obsession‘ is the story of a crazed, blonde bombshell with a temper who takes out love’s rejections by burning stuff down. When an inferno she sets to get back at her latest lover threatens to kill two children, Detective Mason Brown rescues them and garners the fatal attraction of this woman. Like flipping a switch, she turns her attention to Brown and will do anything to remove the people Brown loves from his life so the two of them can be together. Brown spends the rest of the book trying to stop her while rescuing everyone who’s important to him.

The plot might sound simplistic, like the Harlequin Romantic thriller it is, but there’s so much more going on. A rich backstory gives a depth to the characters and twists to the plot. Yes, there are references to the three earlier books, but this one easily stands on its own.  And Rachel DeLuca–the female lead–is fascinating. She was blind for most of her life, now sighted, and has a 6th sense that almost never lets her down.

Mason Brown–the male lead–is gorgeous, dimpled, with a solid moral core. He took over raising his two nephews when fate mandated it without a second thought. He’s good-tempered, kind, with a rock-solid sense of humor he injects in any situation. Really, he’s too perfect for me, but with girlfriend Rachel, he becomes complex and full-voiced.

Overall, a fast-paced read that wouldn’t let me stop until I was done. I recommend it even for non-romantic genre readers (like me).

More romantic thrillers:


Dangerous Waters

An Affair of Deceit

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

26 thoughts on “Book Review: Deadly Obsession

  1. A roller-coaster of a post, breathless just reading that so can well believe the book is terrific. Great review and has me hooked. PS. I couldn’t help but laugh out loud at Andrew’s comment – definitely sounded like the work of fiction. The poor man.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqui, the way you’ve described the characters makes the book a compelling read. I’ll add this to my lo-o-o-ong list and hope I get to half of them before I turn 100 (not that far off!)
    Should I ever get my book pubbed, I hope you’ll write a review for me – you must generate a lot of readers.

    Liked by 1 person

      • That was 25 years ago. He was a coworker. One day he came in depressed after dumping his girl friend. By his description, she was a real nut case. Three days later she set fire to his car in the apartment carport, causing a two alarm fire and destroying 4 cars plus damage to the exterior of the apartment. She was arrested and duly convicted. Last contact I had with that guy he said she’d been sentenced to 5-10 years, but had been sent to the prison’s mental hospital shortly before the trial ended. There’s a good possibility that she’s still locked in a small room somewhere.

        In terms of writing and story lines, just read the news regularly and you’ll get plenty of story ideas from real life.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

