business / writing

Cover Reveal: What Do You Think?

This is not the book cover for my thriller–that still drags somewhere between frenzy and torpor. This is for the K-8 Tech Curriculum (Teacher Manual) I’m updating. I know–it’s probably not your field–but if you could tell me what you think of these two covers. I have gotten disparate advice from valued experts and am now frozen with indecision. Here are the two I’m considering:

It’s worth nothing that this K-8 curriculum has student workbooks that have their own covers (of course). Those are decided and will look like this:

Tech Curriculum--Kindergarten

You can see I’m trying to tie the Teacher Manual in with the workbooks, but not sure of the best approach. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks–your time is much appreciated!

More on my tech stuff:

Writer-Teacher? Join Me For an Online Class

10 Bits of Wisdom I Learned From a Computer

Tech Tips for Writers #85: Browser Problem? Switch Browsers

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

45 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: What Do You Think?

  1. I think both covers are great. The first caught my eye, but I agree with everyone else’s comments about the second option and it seems to be a majority. I’m sure you’ve probably made the decision already, but I hope it was an easy one😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blimey,maybe I should have read all the comments before I voted – in the minority! I liked the brighter colour of the first one but now realise the face is blocked out – not great! Congratulation Jacuqi and good luck with the launch. Is it nationwide? How involved are you in the selling of this? Do you have orders already? I haven’t seen anything like this here in the UK for this age group – a super idea! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t see that (that the boy’s face was covered) until I posted it here. How’d I miss it! So my #1 became #2. Sigh.

      I edit this series. It’s in its sixth edition so has a good foundation of users. It is unique. Its competitors are usually automated programs that are completed online. This expects teacher involvement and a blend of tech and non-tech. I think it’s quite effective in teaching age-appropriate tech skills.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I prefer the second. In the first, the kid’s head looks robotic, and you know how I feel about that. In the second, the info is easy to spot, in order of importance. Teacher’s Manual for Kindergarten Technology Curriculum. I also like the tie-in with the Student Workbook. Why confuse the issue with a suggestion that maybe this new book belongs with another set?
    BTW, congratulations, Jacqui, on your new launch. Wanna celebrate?

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I agree with book cover #2. As a teacher, you need to be able to quickly recognize the book you need because you’re multi-tasking. You want to be able to quickly pull off the shelf or your desk piled with books and papers the book that looks similiar to the students’ workbooks.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’ve worked for Pearsons, the biggest school book publishers in the world and they make sure all the books in a set match for easy recognition. You might as well ride on their research. BTW how’s your African book coming along?

    Liked by 1 person

    • You have probably clinched it for me, Anne. I appreciate your informed comment.

      I’ve renamed it “Lucy: Story of Man”–about the fifth title I’ve given it! I got a nibble on it at a writer conference I went to this weekend. I still laugh over one of the comments my new favorite agent said: “I’ve… never… known anyone to write a book like this.” Good or bad, but at least he is intrigued!


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

