book reviews

Book Review: The Silenced

The Silenced (Krewe of Hunters, #15)The Silenced

by Heather Graham

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

I don’t read much paranormal fiction, but surprised myself by enjoying Carsten Stroud’s Niceville trilogy (see my reviews for ‘Niceville‘, ‘The Reckoning‘, and ‘The Homecoming). I wondered if there was another series with a good balance of thriller, mystery, and the supernatural. When Heather Graham’s ‘Silenced‘ (MiraBooks 2015) showed up in my Vine queue, I decided to try it (though the blurb categorized it as a ‘romantic thriller’). Graham has written over 100 books so she well-fits my interest in prolific authors who can provide me with the 2-3 books a week that I read.

Silenced‘ is part of Graham’s acclaimed series about an FBI unit called Krewe of Hunters that handles unusual and/or unexplainable problems. All of the team members have had a paranormal experience and know how to blend it into what otherwise is the reality of a case. In this story, Lara Mayhew, best friend of newly-minted FBI agent Meg Murray, disappears. When this seems to be tied to a series of female murders, Meg is invited to join the Krewe of Hunters and use her unusual ability talking to ghosts to help the team find the kidnappers. As she and her new partner, Matt Bosworth, try to rescue Lara before she ends up dead, Meg finds herself falling for this man who is nothing what she expected.

It is a slow-moving plot, but that may be intentional: It’s as much about relationships and characters as murder and mayham. There are a few plot parts that don’t connect well, but overall, it is well-delivered and keeps my attention. It’s to Graham’s credit that the characters and the choices they make are believable and engaging, despite touching an ephemeral world that many don’t believe exists.

One other point: Too many times, Graham repeats key elements, as though afraid readers missed it. I found that distracting, but not enough to quit reading.

Overall, I enjoyed this book (and the next). I even found myself wishing I could stumble into a few dead people who’d like to chat with me.

More paranormal and futuristic fiction:


Ender’s Game


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Silenced

  1. Jacqui, sounds like an interesting book. I often appreciate when a writer repeats something important, especially if it was mentioned 100 pages ago. You read very quickly, so for you 100 pages back might only be a half hour. For me, it’s likely to be four days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather Graham has been at ThrillerFest when I’ve attended (an annual conference in New York for thriller writers), but I’ve not read her work yet. I bought one of her books at the last conference, but it’s still on my shelf. Like so many unread books patiently waiting their turn…

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

