tech tips for writers

Tech Tips for Writers #100: Top Nine MS OfficeTips

Tech Tips for Writers is a (somewhat) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

I’ve been sharing Tech Tips for three years. Here are the keyboarding hints about MS Office readers consider the most important:

  1. Ten Best MS Word Tips–How Did You Survive Without Them
  2. How to Add Accents and more
  3. Don’t Like Double Space Between Paragraphs?
  4. Transparent Backgrounds
  5. Typing Over Text and How to Stop It
  6. How to Create a Chart Really Fast
  7. How to Open A New Word Doc Without the Program
  8. Alt+??? Brings up which Menu Command?
  9. 8 Digital Tools for Writing

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

27 thoughts on “Tech Tips for Writers #100: Top Nine MS OfficeTips

  1. A ‘keeper’. My abiding fault concerns caps lock. I have gone as far as a paragraph without realising the damned thing was on – and, the thing is, somebody once showed me the easy way to alter whole passages like that to lower case, and I’ve forgotten it! I just have no ‘technical’ memory!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Jacqui. I have an iMac, but I used Microsoft Office for Apple users, and I also used Scrivener, which is excellent software, in my opinion, although, I don’t use it often. When I started writing my manuscript back in 2009 I used Microsoft Word. At that time, Scrivener was only for those who had an iMac or MacBook Pro, which I didn’t have. When I changed from Windows to Apple, I kept using Microsoft Word but bought Scrivener.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I do use Notes and Pages which is Apple’s answer to Microsoft Office but I used the Notes app basically to take notes or write down a scene or sequel that wakes me up at three in the morning. Pages is supposed to be just as good as Microsoft Word but when it comes to writing, I prefer Microsoft Word. I am slowly, but I do mean slowly, transitioning over to Scrivener which is better than Pages and Microsoft together, in my opinion.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

