tech tips for writers

Tech Tip for Writers #106: Auto-add a Period, Caps Lock, and More on an IPad

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: Typing on the iPad keyboard is slow. You have to access two different screens to type most messages. How do I speed that up without buying (and installing) a separate QWERTY keyboard?

A: Here’s one time-saving tip: IPads and most Smartphones will add a period (which inconveniently is on the second screen) if you double-space.


Double-tapping seems to be a secret shortkey for many tools. For example, if you double-click the shift key, it turns the CAPS LOCK on.

That’s not all. Here are some other auto-adds for your iPad:

  • split the keyboard by tapping and holding the keyboard button located at the bottom right of the keyboard (when it’s in view), and select Split.
  • push Home and the power button simultaneously to take a screenshot that is saved to your camera roll
  • shake the iPad to undo your last typed entry

To ask a question, fill out this form:

More on iPads:

Need a File on Your iPad? Here’s an Easy Way

Yes You Can Publish Direct to IPad

8 Digital Tools for Writing

Jacqui Murray has been teaching K-8 technology for 15 years. She is the editor/author of over a hundred tech ed resources including a K-8 technology curriculum, K-8 keyboard curriculum, K-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum. She is an adjunct professor in tech ed, CSG Master Teacher, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, CAEP reviewer, CSTA presentation reviewer, freelance journalist on tech ed topics, and a weekly contributor to TeachHUB. You can find her resources at Structured Learning.

32 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #106: Auto-add a Period, Caps Lock, and More on an IPad

  1. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #106: Auto-add a Period, Caps Lock, and More on | Tech Mirror

  2. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #109: The Five Second Back-up | WordDreams...

  3. I’ve done all my writing on iPads. I gave up on the split screen a couple of years ago because Apple Pages insisted on writing behind the keyboard and I couldn’t read what I’d written. I recently bought the iPad Pro and the smart keyboard is awesome. So it the ability to have two apps on one screen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqui – being an avid iPad user I can’t wait to try out the split screen as well as other short cuts. For longer typing sessions on it I do have a separate keyboard which works very well. Only a few weeks ago my son showed me how to take a screenshot – one of those moments when he rolled his eyes in despair at my lack of knowledge! Darn, if he’d waited I could have impressed him. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I use all of them a lot (well, not so much the split screen). You will love these. The screenshot–it’s wonderful in my business. As a teacher. I take lots of screenshots of projects rather than doing their convoluted save functions.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I didn’t know that about the split screen on the iPad. Thanks. I just tried it, but as soon as I hit the ‘split’ button it disappears and doesn’t split for me. I’ll have to play around with it. Maybe the feature only works for certain things like emails.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

