tech tips for writers

Tech Tips for Writers #101: The Internet Button

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: My internet stopped working on my laptop. Everyone else’s in the house works, but mine won’t connect. What do I do?

A: First: Make sure the laptop button that allows connection to the internet is on. More often than not, that’s the problem for teachers at my school. If it’s not that, it gets much more complicated. I’ll cross my fingers.


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

28 thoughts on “Tech Tips for Writers #101: The Internet Button

  1. I hate internet problems, they are a sure fire way to make me run straight for the hills! Okay, so I exaggerate, but they are never easy to fix, at least in my experience. It’s a good point about checking connection – I’ve made that mistake more than once and tried to connect when wifi wasn’t engaged!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answer! With my MacBook, I sometimes have to check if the reception is clear and my Mac is receiving it. I have lots of networks surrounding me. Worst case scenario, is that I have to reboot it and then my network comes up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I walked away from my laptop to get something (probably more coffee), one of my cats decided to put her nose closer to the screen, paws on the edge of the keyboard. I freaked when I had no internet. Convincing kitty to move I forced myself to calm down. There had to be a logical explanation. Logical? Hmm. By the time I finished my coffee, I realized the cat had pressed the wrong button–or was that a hint? 😀 😀 Great tip, Jacqui.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I use to do IT help desk support, you be surprised the number of times the solution to the problem solved by asking, “Is it turned on?” The other big solution to most problems is, “Have you tried rebooting the system?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I first started managing the computer lab at my school, I needed help from IT all the time. They always started with power to the devices and rebooting. My own favorite for internet problems: Try a different browser.


  5. Sound advice. Start with the simple solutions. I remember calling an computer helpline in the early days of working and I informed them that the computer didn’t work. He asked if it was plugged in. Of course, I laughed. ie. How silly am I? He insisted I look. Diving under the desk I of course found it unplugged! That taught me!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

