tech tips for writers

Tech Tips for Writers #111: Quick Internet Fix

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: The internet website is quirky. Stuff I know should work doesn’t. Is there any quick way to fix that without having to reboot?

A: Here are four steps you can take before rebooting your entire computer:

  1. Refresh the webpage with the ‘reload current page’ tool. About half the time, that works.
  2. Next, close the internet down and re-open.
  3. Unplug the modem (or router–or both), wait ten seconds, and replug
  4. Try a different browser.


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

25 thoughts on “Tech Tips for Writers #111: Quick Internet Fix

  1. Great tips! I especially like your tip about changing browsers. In the last two months I noticed that my gravatar wouldn’t show up when I clicked ‘like’ on someone’s blog, nor did it allow me to comment. I also couldn’t pick up my comments from the WP reader. I downloaded Chrome and everything was fine. I don’t know why explorer did that, but thankfully Chrome works!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That happens to me all the time. Often I move from Firefox to Chrome, but sometimes–like yesterday–I got better results moving from Chrome to Firefox.

      Browser switch is right up there with ‘reboot’ (unplug and replug–the favorite with cable folks). It’s a great place to start when you have an internet problem.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lately there’s been times I’ve come to a page that says there’s something wrong, usually hinting it’s on my side of the screen. The message tells me to fix it using the tools I have for my system and/or my browse. HOWEVER, more often than not, if I just wait a while (5 min. to 3 hours), I can get to that page that was acting up. I propose that in many cases, the problem is not at the receiver’s end, and instead, it’s at the end of the website or interferences because of so much being wireless. After having my own domain for a while, I can certainly understand the frustrating things that happen behind the screen., The inference may be in the air. Could it be that there’s a foul-up between two difference wifi hotspots as an example?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great tips, Jacqui, and I’ve done all of them, but only with Oldest Son on the phone to guide me through the steps, all the while reminding me that I’ve done this a thousand times before, I shouldn’t need him, but I always do. Grin.
    Remember when it was a pencil and a journal and the reboot only involved a pencil sharpener?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Grr…those internet issues. Here there will be shouts from one room to the next…is yours down…can you dash down to restart the modem…is it working..? Your tips are spot on and should work in most circumstances I believe.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

