To Hunt a Sub

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–VI

tridentAfter a four five-year hiatus from the first book in my Delamagente-Rowe series, I finally think I’ll get it done. I had a few interruptions–agent interest in the series’ second book, imminent deadline for a non-fic series I write–but those are now behind me. The short blurb for this thriller–still a work-in-progress is:

…a brilliant PhD candidate, a cynical ex-SEAL, and a quirky experimental bot team up against terrorists intent on stealing America’s most powerful nuclear weapon, the Trident submarine.

Here’s what I did this past few months:

  • I worked several months with an agent I thought would be perfect for my book. It did go beautifully–and she had excellent suggestions–but ultimately, we parted ways. I won’t get into the details, but I came away impressed with her professionalism, personal touch, and expertise. I’d have no problem sending my next book to her (cross my fingers it doesn’t take another four years because I’ll be retired by then).
  • I finished editing an 18-book non-fiction series that is now ‘in the can’ as the movie folks used to say. With that off my plate, I can focus on To Hunt a Sub.
  • I found a well-credentialed editor to help with the final copy. Of course, prior to sending it to him, I ran it through Grammarly for grammar and spelling errors and am currently running all 400 pages through Autocrit for pacing, dialogue, redundancies, cliches, and instances of adverbs/adjectives overuse.
  • I am starting the quest for a cover–I’ll pin that down while the editor is doing his magic.
  • I collected self-pub options from fellow authors and will begin evaluating them. Kindle Scout looks good–what do you think?

By this time next month, I hope to be preparing the cover reveal. That will be a first. It’s frightening. Hmmm…..

Click for more on To Hunt a Sub’s progress.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

41 thoughts on “How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–VI

  1. Pingback: Can You Help Me Launch To Hunt a Sub? | WordDreams...

  2. I’m so excited to hear about your progress! Thanks for mentioning Autocrit. I hadn’t heard of it and so I tried it out and learned that I use the word “look” excessively! What an eye opener! I’m happy to have discovered that before I turn it over to my editor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had similar experiences with Autocrit–with lots of different words. And I would have sworn I didn’t do that repetition thing!

      Thanks for visiting. Love having company over here. See you Monday.


  3. How exciting, Jacqui – I didn’t know you were writing a fiction book. Great title and so glad it’s all coming together for you. I look forward to reading more about it. You’ve given some great pointers how to prepare the manuscript (I’ve now bookmarked this post!) and I’d never heard of Kindle Scout but taking a quick look it seems perfect – I’d love to hear how you get on with it. Best of luck to you and your book. Warmest wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I, most certainly, understand why you use Grammarly. But why are you using Autocrit? There are critique groups out there, you could have beta readers check for pace, dialogue, clichés, etc., and there’s a professional editor. Maybe Autocrit is okay, but for some unknown reason (and this is after visiting the site and reading the FAQs), I don’t think I’d use it. (Purely my opinion of course.)

    Do you like having the agent? Do you find him/her giving the right support for you? Are the promotional ideas sounding feasible, cleaver, and realistic?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do use a professional editor, but first I do as much editing myself as possible. Autocrit finds all the writing issues you’ve suggested, but it importantly finds my redundancies. I’m constantly amazed that I’ll use the same word twice within the same paragraph. How can I miss that? But I do.
      Repeated words I missed

      I also find it effective–for me–to edit in small chunks. It selects a few paragraphs it concludes don’t read right for a variety of the reasons you mentioned and I laser in to fix them.

      Agent: We amicably parted ways. I’ve done this twice now. Once them, once me. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I only question Autocrit because you have to pay for it. There’s freer software editors that I’ve looked at that seem to do a good job. Or have you found out differently?

        Could you do a post about agents? I wouldn’t even know what to expect from one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve tried a lot–Hemingway, Analyze my Writing, ProWriting–but Autocrit works best for me. One detail: I can paste all 400 pages into Autocrit at once in the fee version. The free version is not nearly so robust.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are too kind Jacqui. I am much closer to 47 (my birthday is next week) than i have ever been before. I am old enough to have been held in front of the new fangled device called the television when Neil Armstrong walked on the moon. At least that is what my mom told me.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

