writers / writing

#IWSG–Am I really going to do this?

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s insecurity – I might actually publish this book!

I am finally chipping away at all those Final Steps required to publish a book. I have it out to an editor, to a cover creator, have set aside an ISBN number, and am considering options available for the self-pub author (like Kindle Scout). I feel the forward momentum gaining energy and think I just might make it this time.

And that’s frightening. I’ve published non-fiction books before–over a hundred–but this is my first fiction effort.

A question for you-all: When you had your ebook all ready to go, how did you launch it? What would you suggest I do? I much appreciate anything you have to share.

Most Popular IWSG articles:

My Writing (Lack of) Progress

Where Should I Live Now That I’m All Grown Up?

Am I a Storyteller?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

45 thoughts on “#IWSG–Am I really going to do this?

  1. Jacqui, I’m really not one to ask for launching advice. I know that some writers have blog tours to launch their book which seems like a great idea. I also think what you’re doing in this post is letting readers know about your book, which is great.
    For my latest novel I didn’t do a specific launch. I wrote posts on the cover. Wrote posts related to the content of the novel and will continue to do so. I think Patgarcia has a great idea and from your response you are going to follow through. Best of luck!🙂 .

    Liked by 2 people

    • My latest delay: I’ve decided to get a Kirkus review, but that requires a completely edited document. I’m at least a few weeks away from that. And then, Kirkus takes 7-9 weeks! Another two month delay!


  2. Congrats, Jacqui, I’m so thrilled for you.
    Do everything suggested by your other commenters, and talk to Nanette about other ideas.
    Of course your Word Dream followers will all be on board.
    But I think getting your book reviewed is the most important first strategy to pursue. Every reviewer has followers who respect their views and will pick up a book because of their recommendation.
    Contact book clubs if you can and ask to be considered for next year.
    I plan to review your book on my blog after I read it, and I’m so looking forward to reading it.
    Happy dance over here.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have yet to publish a book, but I would think one thing you may consider for launching is doing a post about the launch and display your book in the post. Also, you could create a page for your book here at your blog and display it on your sidebar.

    Have you been in touch with Amazon, Barns & Noble, and any of the other online book shops? I know Amazon helps promote books, although I don’t know what you give in return. I would think the other shops do the same though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Since I haven’t published yet, I can offer no advice.in that area. But I can imagine the first time must be quite frightening. Let us know how you eventually do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m proud of you and your decision. I can’t offer much advice in terms of launch, that being one of my weak spots (okay, so, honestly the whole of promotion is my weak area), but I have every confidence that you’ll soar.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Way to go! Blog tours. Publicity. Speaking opportunities. There are so many avenues to go, but book launch is the time when you go all out to say, “LOOK AT ME. I’M AWESOME.” Or let other people say that about you. Wishing you the best with this!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for visiting my blog.

    When I released my ebook as a self publisher (up to 5 now), I just released it and emailed as many reviewers as I could asking for them to read my book and rate it on Amazon. I still haven’t figured out the best way to get people to read my book as of yet, but I’m still trying. I think I just have to keep releasing books, and sooner or later one will really capture people with my wonderful writing and be inspired to look at everything else I’ve done.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve had small presses for both of my novels, so I can’t offer any help with the technical part (not that you need it!), but in terms of the promotional part, I’ve had my share of that. You could search my Writing, Publishing, and Marketing categories on my blog if you like. You might find something that’s helpful in terms of release dates and other promotional activities. Regardless, best of luck to you, and if you do submit for a Kindle Scout campaign and get accepted, you know you’ll get my vote!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That is a tremendous accomplishment and I am proud of you, Lady. I haven’t launched my first book but I have written book reviews for people who have launched their first book, have sent out tweets that they have set up on their launch day and also put it on my FB and Tumblr.

    I also know about one or two good book review sites where my book review of an author’s book was published. AskDavid is one of them. I have heard something about Book Buzz through an online seminar I attended but I have no experience with dealing with them.

    If there is any way I can help, don’t hesitate to let me know. I’ll find the time and do it because I want to see your book launch go very well.


    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ll definitely take you up on the help part, Pat. Following in the example of fellow blogger, Medeia Sharif, I’ll be putting a sign-up sheet out there for help in the next few months. Yikes that sounds scary!


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

