book reviews

My Winter with Berger and Mitrie

berger and mitryMy latest addictive pleasure is the Berger and Mitry series (big thank you to Pat Garcia for the recommendation). It is eleven books and growing, detailing the love story between Des Mitrie, a Connecticut trooper in small-town Dorset, and Mitch Berger, a famous movie reviewer who ended up living in that tiny seaside community for reasons you’ll have to find out for yourself. These two meet during a murder, fall in love, and go through all the stuff newly-minted couples experience while solving local crimes with creative thinking, original ideas and a large scoop of teamwork. Just enough death to be considered murder-mystery, but not so much it ever feels gratuitous.

I’d call this a cozy mystery series , but I like Mitch’s description better–:

“Our own private version of a Norman Rockwell painting.”

You won’t be sorry if you try this one.

More on mysteries:

13 Tips for Cozy Mystery Writers

9 Tips for Mystery Writers

Killing Trail

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

27 thoughts on “My Winter with Berger and Mitrie

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Temporary Agent | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: My Month With Alex McNight | WordDreams...

    • Do you like cozy mysteries? Oddly, it’s a good counter-balance to my love of thrillers, with all their horror and gore (at times). I wouldn’t have guessed I did, until I did.


  3. I understand completely. I’m not usually a mystery fan, but I like Louise Penny’s Three Pines series, specifically because of the well-rendered characters and the depth of the various growing relationships. Sometimes the murder (and its solving) is the weak part of the bool. I’m thinking I’ll give this series a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely love cosy mysteries, Jacqui. Once books start getting into the gratuitous violence arena I usually put them down. It’s great to know these books suit my taste. Great review😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t mind the violence, but I’m just as happy when it’s off-scene. An agent who offered to represent my upcoming novel didn’t like the in-scene violence I include so I know there will be other readers who skip through those parts. It’s just as difficult to write as read!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like a great read, Jacqui, but all your reviews sound like great reads.😀
    I just finished Prayers for the Dead by Faye Kellerman, also a murder mystery, and I really loved it. I’ve read earlier books by her and find that she keeps getting better as a writer. So, getting myself out of my usual genre groove.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just read my first ever Elmore Leonard novel picked up at sale at library … will be reading as much of him as possible, though your Berger and Mitry series sounds great.. have a lovely weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

