To Hunt a Sub

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–VII

us submarineI had a few interruptions, but made a lot of progress on my newest thriller, To Hunt a Sub. Here’s the short blurb for this thriller:

…a brilliant PhD candidate, a cynical ex-SEAL, and a quirky experimental bot team up against terrorists intent on stealing America’s most powerful nuclear weapon, the Trident submarine.

Here’s what I did these past few months:

  • I incorporated my editor’s changes–loved most of them–and sent the final draft to several people I hope will write reviews for me. That will take a few months, which gives me time to complete other items.
  • I got my cover, which is waiting for the big Cover Reveal date (I haven’t set that up yet). Paper and Sage did a great job on it (who I found through efriend, Rebecca Bradley).
  • I am consciously ignoring the call of this book’s sequel, Twenty-four Days. I know if I start editing that, I’ll lose energy for the launch of this book.
  • I’m organizing my Blog Hop pieces where I’ll ask your help to promote my newly-published book. Stay tuned!
  • I’m still looking at Kindle Scout as a good option to get started. We’ll see.
  • I still need to get my barcode. I think I have a good place to get that in a day, so I’m procrastinating it.

I hope to move on to marketing in four(ish) weeks. Sigh. <shiver>.

Click for more on To Hunt a Sub’s progress.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

42 thoughts on “How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–VII

  1. Pingback: Can You Help Me Launch To Hunt a Sub? | WordDreams...

  2. Jacqui, I’m in awe of your energy and organisation! So much to do but you seem well in control (even if you’re itching to get writing the sequel!). This list is a great summary for all setting out on the publishing route (myself included). Daunting but a thrill too! Best of luck to you and keep us posted.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Let us know how much energy it takes to launch the book. Don’t let yourself slide over to work on your sequel whenever you get tired. Stay focused!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve done a lot of sales jobs in my life and I couldn’t do them with the thought that I’d talk anyone into the product. I approach it more as answering questions, explaining. I do that too with my non-fic books. I really don’t want anyone buying one of my tech ed books and being dissatisfied. Besides, PayPal makes it way too easy to refund money so why even go there?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve been busy. Can I suggest a comma, after the word “bot” in the blurb. Bot is such an unfamiliar word, that I keep reading is as “bot team,”instead of “team up.” Anytime I have to read twice…an edit may be in order. Keep up the momentum.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do you think so? Thanks to your comment, I went on an internet grammar search, but have so far not found an answer.

      I do see your point about the unfamiliarity of the word ‘bot’. I already have it embedded in the cover, but I could change it for the marketing. Hmmm….


  5. Jacqui,
    it sounds as if you have everything in place. You have a plan and that is very good. Keep following it. If I understand correctly, you are self-publishing this one. Kindle Scout is good but I was at a writing conference last year and met one of the leading managers from Kobo and would recommend that you check them out also. I liked their presentátion that went over two hours each for four days and the question and answer period. They were very open.

    Good luck and all the best. Let me know when you launched and I’ll put your book in my queue for a book review.

    Shalom aleichem,

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

