humor / writers / writing

Labor Day Thoughts: Do You Really Want Your Job to be ‘Writer’?

Take today to think about it. Then watch this:

If you still want to be a writer, here’s how to do it in 24 hours:

Now for a completely fun video on “The day in the life of a writer”:


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

39 thoughts on “Labor Day Thoughts: Do You Really Want Your Job to be ‘Writer’?

    • I’ve made a hobby a job several times and it always turns into a job then. If you love your day job, that might be good to stick with it as long as possible. Not that you need my career advice!


  1. Wait…is it weird to talk to yourself a lot…as Rachel Hollis indicates? I talk to everything around my writing desk. Sometimes I curse. But I do wear uber comfortable clothing and usually have chocolate and hop around a few times when I hit my word count…or if a chapter turned out well. Fun videos…except the 24 hour one…he depressed me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I’d trust a book I wrote in 24 hours. On the other hand, I wish I’d made that video and gotten 200k hits (and the advertising money that went with it. Anything to support my habit!).


  2. That Day in the Life of a Writer video is all too relatable!!! I’ve never been one of those writers who waits until deadline and tries to cram it all in in a short period of time. I try to do a little each day. But yeah, those sticking points in the plot can be BEARS, right?! That’s the hardest part about being a writer. It feels like we should have a team to sit around and brainstorm ideas…but we don’t. It’s just US and that blinking cursor.


    Liked by 1 person

  3. While I disagree comprehensively with his approach, the 24-hour guy has a point. Kindle (and other e-book) readers have been shown to be more interested and involved in “casual” reads – shorter “books” that cost a lot less. This makes a lot of sense in the non-fic market, but not sure how it can work for genre fiction. Rather than an 800-page novel, will people buy a series of eight 100-page mini-novels? Or forty 20-page stories? Can the author still tell the same story when s/he has to find seven (or 39) cliffhanger break points? Of course, none of this is relevant if you’re looking to publish in paper.

    His advice on timers, writing quickly/editing thoroughly also has merit even for long-form writers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting analysis, Ozfenric. I just got an announcement about a new publication from one of my favorite authors, Michael Connelly, and my favorite character, Harry Bosch. It’s an 18-page story for $1.99 I passed. So, I guess this short stuff doesn’t apply to me.


  4. So: Kaleb – funny, funny, and probably worth his $4000 in acting fees, for knowing how much $ Stephanie made. Writer? Pass.

    24 hours to write a book – won’t even bother – his book on how-to is earning him his $4000 – short book, like a pamphlet. Yeah, not a book at all. This guy is a reality show which means he’s all schlock. Pass.

    Rachel Hollis – I’m like, OK, she’s a writer, (in her own words) but I can only follow her advice about emotional eating. Running and wine? Pass.

    Thanks, Jacqui, for five minutes of funny today.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the final video ‘a day in the life of’ – we are an eccentric lot aren’t we?! I love to see how other authors spend their days too. The second video I didn’t get through because I kept hearing a voice in my head – the sarcastic part of me that was already laughing hysterically at the concept of writing a book in a day! Thanks for sharing🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

