writers / writing

#IWSG-When do writer’s write?

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out). The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts on the monthly question or, alternatively, our fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s question: How do you find the time to write in your busy day?


Actually, it’s my preferred activity. When I worked outside the house, it was my hobby. Now, it’s blended daily into my online teaching and coaching activities. I probably write a couple thousand words a day–I’ve never really counted them. That includes, blog posts, comments on forums and Discussion Boards, mentoring/coaching, class resources, articles for clients, editing for friends, articles for online ezines I write for, and whatever else comes up. Since I consider myself a teacher and a writer, writing is simply What I Do.

I love it.

The real question in my case is: How do I find time to do anything else?

More IWSG articles:

Am I good enough? Does it matter?

Am I a Storyteller?

When does technical become boring

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

62 thoughts on “#IWSG-When do writer’s write?

  1. Love the last question: when do you find time to do anything else? I read on Twitter the other day that a woman with a clean house has an unfinished novel. LOL. It’s great that you’re able to weave your writing through everything else in your day. Happy writing🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqui, I LOVE you answer – so simple & true. Then had to laugh at how you turned to question around – I’m the same, wondering how I find time to do other things and more and more find myself putting things off instead! That’s okay though, isn’t it?!😀😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When do writers write? For me the answer is simple: all the time. Now that I’ve quit college. Not forever though, I’m going to another university next year to study english culture and language to make my passion of writing into my profession

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I write throughout each day. I start out with the comments for blog posts, moving into replies to emails. Then there are those email I begin to friends. By nine o’clock I’m into my WiP. When I feel I just can write the next sentence so that it makes sense, I do the daily household chores until I feel I need a break. That’s when I go back to the keyboard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have the same routine, Glynis (except for the household chores–my wonderful husband does most of those). I use every writing experience as an opportunity to practice my art. Rarely do I send out a message–Tweet or SMS even–without a thorough check.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Who needs to do anything else other than write ;)? I think it’s great that you’ve found a rhythm to your writing – keep it up! My day job involves creative writing too, and while I’m grateful for that, at the same time, I think it does affect my ability to write for myself at nights. Wishing you the very best!

    Rachel x
    September IWSG co-host

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great questions, Jacqui. I’ve been re-reading King’s On Writing cd :> What stands out most is how he urges writers to make a place to write and take seriously the discipline to make writing x-count words a day a priority. Doing so helped me reexamine my other priorities. I’m often amazed at the things that moved far down the list😀 For example, instead of cooking as much as I used to every day (and then cleaning up) I eat more raw super foods. I’m amazed at how much better I feel!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Pat. Writing has so many facets, I can always find one that’s ‘a break’ from the others. For example, when I’m tired of writing my non-fic, I take a break with my fiction. Who would think that would work, but it does.


  7. Time to do anything else? NO! Hilarious – I have a dusty house full of stuff I mean to sort through and throw away and a yard that firmly resembles lots of dead leaves, fallen eucalyptus bark, and asparagus fern but few real plants. But writing calls, so I write.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Jacqui … writing that book – I’m sure one needs to settle down to it … but I get what you mean – you are writing and you are presenting your voice to others within your group … : I must just do both now …. cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Any time? All the time? I used to think that I can start writing any time the fancy strikes me. Much to my shock I discovered that writing is more a process and not merely a creative mind generating great ideas. It perhaps starts with an idea but needs to be painstakingly followed through with actual words, weaving them into a plot, ensuring there is a flow and many other parts that a reader should never notice effort has gone into. Gradually I realized that for better productivity and quality, some form of discipline in the form of routine works best for me.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

