writers tips

Writers Tip #107: Back up a long WIP

When you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

Today’s tip: How to back up a mss that can’t be emailed

Because you’re a writer, you’re eloquent. You work hard on your mss and want/need to back it up. More is better, so to trust your work to a simple external hard drive back up (that could be hacked, fail, or get corrupted) won’t do for the work that either pays your bills or feeds your soul. Here are a few ideas, depending upon whether your manuscript is over or under 10 MB:

  • if it’s under 10 MB: email it to yourself. Set up an email folder for ‘back-ups’ and save it there. You never need to even look at it, unless you need it. If you have Gmail, you can email a document with a file size as high as 25 MB.
  • attach it to a web-based email and save the message to ‘Drafts’. That way, it’s there, waiting to be sent, which it never will because it’s too big. The end result: It’s backed up.
  • upload it to DropBox, Google Drive, or some other cloud-based folder. These generally will take any size. At that point, you can share a link with your story editor or critique group and they can access it through your cloud account.

I got this from those devious folk who communicate with each other subversively by sharing an online email account and leaving a message in the Draft folder, which is deleted once read. Clever, that.

We writers have another use for that devious trick.

–Click to have Writer’s Tips delivered to your email box

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

45 thoughts on “Writers Tip #107: Back up a long WIP

  1. Pingback: Writers Tip #100: 12 Tips From Writing From A to Z | WordDreams...

  2. I always break my WIP into separate files for each chapter. Lets me jump to a chapter I want quickly without having to do a lot o scrolling. Not only do I back up my files via Dropbox and emailing it to myself, I also keep it on a thumb drive that I carry around with me at all times. Never know when I’ll get the urge to write.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like lots of others, I have multiple back ups. What’s so hilarious is that I just said to myself last week…Oh..I’d better back up my WIP. Then forgot completely about it. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

