writers / writing

#IWSG: Why do I Write?

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s question: What is your favorite aspect of being a writer?

The research without a doubt.

Well, maybe the ability to create emotions with words. Pick the right words and people explode with feeling–well beyond the reach of those puny letters.

OK, maybe it’s the passion that comes with putting into words what I see in my brain–how good that feels.

Hmm… I guess I can’t really call out a favorite. There are just too many pieces I love about writing.

More IWSG articles:

Is NaNoWriMo Important if I Don’t Care About the Word Count?

Should I Continue My Newsletter?

Why do I get so few sales through Google Play?


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

53 thoughts on “#IWSG: Why do I Write?

  1. I guess when I use to write, sadly I don’t have time at the moment. It was a selfish act. I was writing for me, getting those stories out of my head and losing time for awhile. Indulging my imagination and creativity. One day I hope to make those stories come to life. But I have learn’t now one thing at a time is better for me Jacqui and as I finish the final picture book illustrations, I find myself looking at a giant pile of stories and asking myself which one should be next. How fun is that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is a true joy in escaping the world into a story–especially of our own creation because it includes everything. I don’t think that’s selfish. It’s no different than any other hobby. It relaxes us so we can do the Chore stuff with more fervor. Good luck finishing up your illustrations. I can only image how fun that is!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love writing! Nearly every aspect of writing, but perhaps my least favourite part is getting the first draft down, which is what I’m doing now during NaNo. I mean, I like it, but much prefer when that rough draft is ready for the revisions, more research, the sculpting and the polishing.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The research is key and its good fun too. I will fact for 5 mins- then spend 5 hours reading back story to Mobutu in Ghana for instance just because it grabs me. I am so much more knowledgeable about the world through research and I love doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh, that’s a good one, Lana. In your blogs, you share your experiences and show me how they could relate to my world. I don’t know if you even intended that–it’s got a lot to do with your voice.

      Glad you pointed this out.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yours is the second post that said how much they enjoyed the research. I find that interesting, because for me research is a necessary evil, but I can’t say I really enjoy it. Well, maybe I do, just a bit too much, because I tend to get lost in my research,n then I end up taking a different direction. I have a hard mtime with all those chickens running around.

    Liked by 2 people

    • For me, yes, but I think we’ve talked about how earliest man got into art, music–artistic expression when all other animals were simply trying to survive. Maybe it was about survival for him, too. You might be on to something.

      Like

  5. I can’t say what my favorite aspect of writing is either, although I do know which part is my lest favorite, writing the middle. I’m sure with some, if not many, it’s the rewrites they dislike. That isn’t the case with me. I have the basic story and working it into something that’s bound to be better is fun for me.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Who would think that a career–maybe what could be viewed as a job–would include so much. I have yet to be bored by writing.

      Thank you so much for reviewing my book, Diana. I will definitely come visit. I love to see how it strikes others.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve read a lot of the #IWSG posts and so many of us feel the same–it’s everything, not one thing. What other career can say that?

      Oh I will definitely stop by. Thanks so much for reviewing my book. I can’t wait to see your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Are you practicing to be a politician? (With the election right around the corner.)😉 I agree–there are so many aspects, it’s supremely difficult to choose just one, but it really boils down to connecting with people for me. =)

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Hi Jacqui – I blog because I love the process .. the words and the feedback .. and I can feel authors passion coming through … cheers Hilary (should that have an apostrophe or not??!!)

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

