book reviews

Book Review: God of Internet

God of the InternetGod of Internet

by Lynn Lipinski

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

I enjoy geeky stories so when NetGalley offered Lynn Lipinski’s “God of Internet” (Majestic Content 2016), I requested and was granted early access. This story follows a black hat hacker (G0d_of_Internet) who releases a worm into the internet that attacks America’s infrastructure–think water supplies and electricity–and will continue to do so unless America removes her military presence from all Muslim countries.

“This is how we will wage war on your land–not by sending ‘boots on the ground’ as you have done in our countries, but by turning your systems and your innovations and your openness into weapons against you.”

A talented team is quickly assembled to fight back, but with each step forward, they lose ground. Woven in with this attack are two subplots–Juliana Al-Dossari’s deteriorating marriage and the failing health of her child.

An attack on America’s infrastructure is the nightmare of politicians and their proletariat, made all the more believable by the almost weekly hacks we see of national financial and security institutions. As a reader of God of Internet, I become privy to insider knowledge that puts me right in the middle of the devious brain of the attacker and the frantic oft-failed efforts of the defenders to stop him. I kept reading, flipping pages, hoping for a solution before the country collapses in on itself.

The shortfall to the book was the frequent distraction of the voluminous subplots–Juliana’s failing marriage and her son’s sickness. These were covered in detail, almost repetitively. Yes, they provided depth of character, but they slowed the pace of the main story dramatically, enough that these subplots began to compete with the main plot for supremacy. And neither of them is strong enough to carry my interest as a reader.

Lipinski is a newish author. If she can solve her plotting issues, I’d be thrilled to read more of her stories.

Why four stars? That’s simple: In between the hefty subplots is an amazing and frightening cybercrime story that I thoroughly enjoyed.

More tech-oriented blooks:

The Catch

Decoded 

Ender’s Game


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author, and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

27 thoughts on “Book Review: God of Internet

    • I was OK with it for a chunk of the beginning, assumed it was backstory, but then it started taking over, rivaling the plot that drew me to the book. I am ready to admit this is more about my preference than the writer.

      Like

  1. Jacqui, the premise of the story sounds fantastic and I can see why you enjoyed the book. I do like sub-plots and learning more in-depth about characters so I can guess this is what Lynn was attempting to do – just a bit too keen and more control needed perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cybercrime is a scary subject Jacqui because the destruction of the world wide web could bring the world to it’s knees. It’s amazing how reliant we’ve become on technology in such a short amount of time. Great review xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anything on the internet is a juggernaut. That’s why the worries about FB and Twitter repressing posts and control of the internet changing. Personally, I’m frightened by some of the changes the EU is insisting on about the Internet. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I like the Start Trek model–extrapolate on what exists, logically. That’s what I do. I have friends in my writers group constantly ask if ‘that’s really possible’. I also have had several occasions where what I included in my book actually came true. Fun.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

