blogs / Lucy Story of Man / twenty four days / writing

What did I write today?

Since I work out of my house, I like to break my day into three parts:

morning

afternoon

evening

I consign writing jobs to each portion of the day, stopping for lunch and dinner. Often, those three portions will be 1) freelance writing, 2) WIP, and 3) research.

Every once in a while, I like to look at what I accomplish on a daily basis with my writing. I don’t count words like some writing efriends. I count what I get done. My writing ToDo list includes:

That’s the goal. Here’s what I actually accomplished this week:

  • continued to work on final edits for Twenty-four Days, the sequel to To Hunt a Sub. Here’s the blurb:

Can a former SEAL, a brilliant scientist, a love-besotted nerd, and a quirky AI stop terrorists in twenty-four days?

It continues the popular characters of To Hunt a Sub, although Otto (the robotic AI) has acquired a voice and mobility–and uses those to his humorous advantage. Projected publication date: Summer, 2017.

Here’s a picture of one of the main characters, the USS Bunker Hill:

uss bunker hill

  • edited and researched Lucy: Story of Man. Since the projected publication date isn’t until Summer, 2018, I have only a preliminary blurb:

Lucy: Story of Man is a collection of paleo-historic vignettes in the spirit of Jean Auel that follow a band of early humans as they struggle to survive in a world where Nature is King. Though each vignette focuses on a discrete piece of early man’s life, they are tied together with a plot line roughly reflecting Lucy, the main character’s, efforts to find safety for her unborn child.

Here’s a picture of Lucy:

early man

  • wrote 3-5 posts on each of my three blogs, WordDreams, Ask a Tech Teacher, and USNA or Bust

blogging

contact-me

  • started preparing articles for the upcoming AtoZ Challenge. Yeah, I know that’s not until April, but if I’m going to do it, I’ll need all 30 posts ready by then. I’m through R so far…

quirks

  • visited efriends on social media to support them, check in, and learn something new. I use this as breaks in my writing activities. It rejuvenates me to see what the rest of the world is doing.

 

social media

  • attended a webinar in my area of interest, in an effort to keep up to date. This week: Google Apps in the Classroom.

social media

It doesn’t seem like that much when I list it out. Where DOES all my time go? What do you do with your day?

If you’re curious what other writers do all day, here’s Kate Harrison’s wonderful video on the Life of a Writer and Amy’s Day in the Life of a Writer.

More on writers:

What’s My Writing Space Look Like?

14 Things Writers Do Before 8am

How to Talk to a Writer

8 Things Writers Can Do No One Else Can


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy and To Hunt a Sub, her debut fiction. She is the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member forJournal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her nonfiction books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

48 thoughts on “What did I write today?

  1. This post encouraged me when I needed to feel better about the work I’ve done lately. Sure I can console myself remembering I moved twice this year, the technological challenges we’re working around, etc. However, I noticed the difference looking at the context of what I’ve done each week rather than work count. Thanks again, Jacqui!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol Jacqui, it doesn’t seem like much? What an understatement, it seemed overwhelming. Only other writers can truly appreciate what a schedule of wearing many hats entails. Good for you!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I see that you and I have a lot in common. I’m a freelance writer, so I’m always having to shift from writing blog posts for clients to squeezing in book writing. If I do too much of the former, my book projects suffer but if I do too much of the latter, my bank account suffers. (Since, as we all know, books don’t bring in a huge amount of money and what money we DO make trickles in SLOWLY!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Blimey, that is a LOT, Jacqui! I am in awe and humbled. What a wonderful mixture of work, on your novel, blogs and also the factual books. Writing, marketing…Seriously one busy week. Such a fun post to read, love the pictures in between and enjoyable learning about your week. Good luck with your sequel – it’s got a very catchy blurb! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your time management skills are supreme. I think it comes across in your writing that you love what you do and I just want to thank you for inspiring me too. You are also a great teacher – a natural at it!

    I am faced with a dilemma – nothing to do with this topic – I hope you don’t mind but here goes. I started my blog because I got sick of tapping away at my keyboard on my own into a void- at least I could see my story ‘out there’ and it has definitely helped my motivation and a whole lot of other things besides .. The other purpose of my blog was initially also purely to annoy a couple of people in my village. (;) So I was not that serious about blogging at first but well, it grows on you! I have recently read on Today’s Author that some publishers treat work that has been published on a blog-site as if it was a work previously published. I thought publishers, although it would be like winning lotto or some such thing, read blogs to ‘discover’ authors / books. While earning actual money from my story seems almost vain to me I would rather not handicap myself before giving it a go. Do you know anything about publishers attitudes toward blogs?
    Since I know you are busy I would happy with a reply in a future post or perhaps there is something already about this topic in one of the posts I have not seen? When I think about it I can not name one book I have read that started as a blog. Which doesn’t mean there aren’t any necessarily ..

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve read lots of opinions about publishing work on blogs. Usually, it refers to publishing an entire mss or story rather than teasers. I personally don’t, though I’m fine with a chapter. In legal terms, 10% is absolutely acceptable. You can take 10% of someone else’s blog or article, publish it (with attribution), and not violate copyrights. But, publishers often follow their own personal guidelines rather than legal or conventional so they may object to reviewing work you’ve already published.

      Does that help? I hope someone else weighs in with ther experiences. this could be interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jacqui, You’re an inspiration. Yesterday, I varnished windows. I worked with a client for an hour. Yup that’s about it. I’m going back today for a second coat–and, aside from making dinner, I expect that to be the highpoint of my activity for the day.

    Sunday we decided to clean up the joist before snow flies. A messy job site becomes an absolute safety hazard once covered with snow. But I hadn’t counted on the dangers concealed by fallen leaves. So, while carrying a load of lumber I slipped and fell on a slick piece of metal concealed by leaves. A cracked rib and sprained wrist have slowed me considerably this week, but I expect to be back up to speed next week. Then–with two more able-bodied persons, perhaps we can get that wood stove installed.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

