writers / writing

#IWSG–January

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all optionally answer the monthly question or post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

JANUARY 4TH QUESTION: What writing rule do you wish you’d never heard?

“Show don’t tell” comes to mind, not because it’s a bad rule, more because it’s quoted ad nauseum. How about ‘Huck Finn meets Les Miserables‘ (you fill in both sides of the equation). Or ‘deep dive‘ to describe a thorough description.

How about ‘as unlikely as a bus hitting you in the shower while being attacked by a shark‘. This is used to describe the chances of finding an agent. Not quite a rule, but might as well be.

Then there’s Mark Twain’s rule about ‘very’:

“Substitute ‘damn’ every time you’re inclined to write ‘very;’ your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.”

This brings to mind a related idea: “If you add a b***sh** filter, it’s amazing how quickly things come into focus.” This to explain much of the writing advice you get from non-writers.

How about “It’s complicated” to explain why you didn’t follow rules. Well, I actually like that one. Much like that great aphorism from Yogi Berra: “If you come to a fork in the road, pick it up.”

I think that’s it. I’ll be over to see what annoys you.

More IWSG articles:

None of My Marketing Seems to Work

Beta Reader? Or not?

Should I use my first name or an initial?


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. The sequel to To Hunt a Sub, Twenty-four Days, is scheduled for Summer, 2017. Click to follow its progress.

55 thoughts on “#IWSG–January

  1. “I do not over-intellectualise the production process. I try to keep it simple: Tell the damned story.”
    —Tom Clancy, WD

    Jacqui I love and hate this one, because when I started writing thats how I use to write, with no other purpose then to tell the story. Then I educated myself, followed many successful writers, read many books on writing and I learned so much. But I lost my way. Lost my will to write, it all got too complicated and the writing vibe stopped visiting me. So reading too may books on writing can be damaging too. But we need to do both, tell our story and also learn how to get better and better at the craft. And I guess the only way to do that is write more and read lots.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha I liked your metaphors. Sarcasm is my favorite type of humor. I like the ‘show, don’t tell’ rule, but it is seen everywhere! Also ‘your character must want something.’ Really? Why I had no idea. I thought my character could wander around aimlessly with nothing to do and with no desires 🙂

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jacqui, this is one of the funniest posts you’ve ever written – I love it! And it echoes much of what I feel about rules of writing. My personal favorite is not to use the word “was” or any iteration of the word. Tell that to Hamlet – “To be or not to be.” Let’s see: “To exercise the right to life or not to exercise the right to life.” Hm, doesn’t have the same dazzle.

    Many years ago, someone in my writing critique group did me the gigantic favor of correcting my chapter by crossing out every single “was” he located. He didn’t replace the word with another, just scooped them out, leaving the chapter with, well, holes! It might have been funny but he was (oh there it is, the word “was”) serious and thought he’d improved my story. Of course there was (again) no arguing with the guy because he was (sigh) certain he was (I’m giving up) right!

    A good way to start the New Year – write with your heart and employ rules that improve, scoop the ones that confound.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks for the support. Writing stories is a living in a closet with your imaginary friends who want the world to know who they are. Insane don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hilarious! Mark Twain has some of the best words of advice, doesn’t he? I like your rule. I hate it too. When I tried to switch to show, I seemed to cut out all the character emotion too, the pieces we yearn to know to discover who is telling the story. Boo on that rule. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

