book reviews

Top 10 Book Reviews in 2016

top ten 2016There are two parts to this post:

  • my top ten favorite books I read in 2016
  • your (as reader) top ten favorite book reviews I wrote in 2016

My Top Ten Favorite Books

I read 198 books according to Goodreads–blasting through my goal of 162 books.

I love reading and would prefer to do that than watch TV, go to the gym, floss my teeth, pay bills, or do the laundry. I review a lot of the books I read, usually received from Netflix or the library but not all. I collect all of my book reviews here, but it isn’t always up to date.

I try.

When I read for fun, I often read thrillers, mysteries, and historic fiction so you’ll see a lot of those on the top ten list.

My ten favorite books that I read in 2016 (in no particular order) are as follows:

  1. Livia Lone by Barry Eisler
  2. Reckless Creed by Alex Kava
  3. The Steel Kiss by Jeffrey Deaver
  4. Off the Grid by C.J. Box
  5. Mark Greaney’s Gray Man series
  6. Sandra Saidak’s Kalie’s Journey series
  7. Brett Battles’ Jonathan Quinn series
  8. James Runcie’s Granchester Mysteries series
  9. Rufus by Terry Barca
  10. Ki’ti’s Story

Top Ten Book Reviews

I reviewed 45 books in 2016, everything from non-fiction like Meeting Prehistoric Man to serial fiction like Off the Grid. Overall, book reviews’ are popular on WordDreams. I understand that because I love reading reviews of books by other writers. Here are the top ten book reviews based on hits in 2016:

  1. 21 Tips from Strunk and White’s “Elements of Style”books stack isolated on white
  2. Killing Lincoln
  3. Meeting Prehistoric Man
  4. The Tree Where Man Was Born
  5. The Temporary Agent
  6. Zero-Degree Murder
  7. The Singer From Memphis
  8. Off the Grid
  9. Beijing Red
  10. Desert God

Since I read about three books a week, I’m always eager for new material. What’s your favorite book from 2016?


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. The sequel to To Hunt a Sub, Twenty-four Days, is scheduled for Summer, 2017. Click to follow its progress.

51 thoughts on “Top 10 Book Reviews in 2016

  1. I re-read a number of books this year. Including my favourite book of all time Mill on the Floss by George Eliot. I love historical stories. I also read in a genre I do not normally go for – it was a thriller and the last chapters I read all in one sitting despite the fact we had visitors. It was called ‘To Hunt a Sub’. I loved the way the author combined vulnerability and strength in her main characters. I loved where the macho character ‘Rowe’ takes Kail’s hand even though she pulls away. And there is this beautiful raw, insight into what it can cost you to be a mother. Otto is very cool too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqui – Thanks for posting your 10 favorite books for 2016. I’m always searching for both Tom and I. My ability to concentrate broke down this year and instead of reading my average of 72 fiction and 45 non-fiction, I barely made it through 6 novels. I know it has to do with my level of concentration and Tom’s illness. Tom often turns to your list when selecting a new book.
    I’ve always loved to read but this has been a tough year for me and I’ve written a lot in my journal but I must get back to reading, Beautifully written words help keep me sane.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Jacqui, Reading has always been a great escape for me. When Tom became so ill this year and everything seemed like multiple battles each and every day, my lack of concentration set in and it scares me. I’ve started reading short stories trying to get myself back on track. I’m currently reading ‘Kitchen Table Wisdom’ by Rachel Naomi Remen, MD and have promised myself to keep up with at least the magazines and newsletters I subscribe. I refuse to allow reading go without a fight.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Are you sure you’re human, or human with six million dollar parts so you don’t need sleep? I can’t even c.o.u.n.t. to 198 in one year let alone imagine reading that many. Whew. Reading this number of books would take me a lot of birthdays. o_O
    I loved the trilogy ❤ by Stephen King, Mr. Mercedes, Finders Keepers and End of Watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t read James Joyce or even Hemingway (well, not many). Rather than literary fiction, I read genre fiction. That goes a lot faster. That’s probably the difference between how many I read and lots of other people.

      Like

  4. Jacqui, I’m always a bit stunned when I consider how many books you read. I read all the time but I’m just not that fast. I also keep track of all the books I read but it’s in no order at all, and I don’t even know exactly what I read in 2016. But I loved, loved, loved All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, actually read the first time in 2015, the second in 2016, so it counts. I reviewed it on my blog under my Favorite Books by Letter series.

    I just started a new file, noting books I’ve read this year so I’ll be able to see what and how many books I read in a year. This year’s first entry is Marge Piercy’s He, She and It, a story I think you’d love – if you haven’t already read it. I also recommend A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman, a wonderful story about the value of living even when lonely.

    Looking forward to your 2017 reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My books are consumed more quickly than yours because I’m looking for entertainment and relaxation. I get enough mind expansion from my research and the articles I write. You, though, always pick pithy, deep books. I’d probably end up with just a handful of those.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great list!
    My favourite last year was “The America of the soul” by Karl Ove Knausgård. I read it in German “Das Amerika der Seele” and both Klausbernd and I think it was one of the best books we have ever read. I’m not sure if it’s translated into English yet, but it will …

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did make my 2017 goal 200–barely over this year. I’ve taken on a new writing gig and have (hopefully) my sequel out this summer so I might fall short on my reading.

      Happy new year to you, too, Audrey!

      Like

  6. I’ve ordered the trilogy of Peter Mathiesson’s books …. 1972 – just before I went out to SA … but should make interesting reading … and I’ve a great friend here, who has major African interests … so she can read after me .. cheers H

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Hi Jacqui – gosh that’s lots of books – it’s interesting I don’t really enjoy novels any more – preferring something more realistic … which is perhaps why I can’t get through many books in a year. Though I have read 7 or so this year … and thus had a lot of time on the sofa – not doing what I should do! So now must get on … I even managed to write up a few reviews on Amazon for blogging authors … The Tree Where Man was Born sounds fascinating …

    Anyway I’m looking forward to more helpful posts in the future … Happy New Year and cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

