blogs

Top 10 Commented-on Articles and Click-throughs in 2016

top ten 2016When readers take time to leave a comment and/or click through to a link I include in a post, it means they trust me, are engaged, and find what they’re reading valuable–want to extend it. This year, I had many more comments than in 2015–about 5800. This compared to over 20,000 over the life of my blog. Why? I’m not sure. I will say I selfishly enjoy my readers. The perspective I get and the vast range of experience is like nothing else in life. I live in a bubble and you-all invite me out of it.

The 2016 articles that inspired this kind of activity from readers are special to me. I learn a lot by noticing what contributed to the WordDreams community.

Here they are–the ten most commented and most clicked-through articles I shared in 2016:

Top 10 commented-on articles

  1. 51 Great Similes to Spark Imagination
  2. 19 Self-editing Tips
  3. 10 Bits of Wisdom I Learned From a Computer
  4. #IWSG–When do you know your story is ready?
  5. 12 Surprises I Found Marketing My Debut Novel, To Hunt a Sub
  6. #IWSG–My Debut Novel Launches This Summer
  7. 29+ Ways to Market Your Book
  8. 4 Surprises and 16 Take-aways from the SD Writers Conference
  9. #IWSG–My Writing (Lack of) Progress
  10. Cover Reveal: To Hunt a Sub

Most reblogged article

I usually don’t track reblogs, but this one amazed me. 19 Self-editing Tips was reblogged thirteen times. I have no idea how this metric compares. What’s your most reblogged article?

Top 10 click-throughs

Click-throughs are another interesting metric. They tell me how many of the links I post readers actually investigate. They want more information, or primary sources for data, or maybe to purchase one of the books I review (I have an Amazon Associates account so each time a reader clicks through from my blog and buys the book, I get something like 3%). On my tech-in-ed blog, about 35% of readers click-through–a big number! Normal is maybe 10% of readers, which is more like what I get on WordDreams. Here are the top sites that you found on WordDreams and wanted to go visit:

  1. Amazon.com
  2. AskaTechTeacher.com
  3. jacquimurray.net/reviews/book-reviews/
  4. goodreads.com
  5. alexjcavanaugh.blogspot.co.uk/p/the-insecure-writers-support-group.html
  6. StructuredLearning.net
  7. flickr.com/creativecommons/
  8. nancyjcohen.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/crime-writers-research/
  9. Cozy-Mystery.com
  10. public-domain-image.com

What were these on your blog? Do they reflect the goal set for your writing or were you surprised?



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. The sequel to To Hunt a Sub, Twenty-four Days, is scheduled for Summer, 2017. Click to follow its progress.

28 thoughts on “Top 10 Commented-on Articles and Click-throughs in 2016

  1. Jacqui – This is a valuable post. You know I have what I call my, “JACQUI” book and when I come across a blog I don’t want to have to go back and hunt for, I print your blog and associated links and have you at my fingertips in my own standard bound notebook. Maybe that’s not legal but it gives me your tips at my fingertips and let’s face it, I don’t always learn during the first reading. You are an amazing instructor and I’ve gained valuable insight from reading your blogs late into the night when I’m not at my computer. Suddenly a light will go on and suddenly, I see what you’ve been trying to convey to me all along. Please keep up your great work. I’d be lost without you. Sheri

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Jacqui… You have such great articles… Useful stuff not only for writers but for English (advanced) students!… When I come across a title from you starting: “ways to describe… etc”… I already know I am going to learn new vocabulary and idiomatic expressions!!!!;) Thanks so much for sharing… sending love & best wishes. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting statistics. I had to smile because the most searched item on my blog for the past many years has been Christine LaGarde nude!!!!!!! I wrote an article about her (can’t remember why) but mentioned nude in the respect she didn’t wear make-up . . . If you want to increase your hits for 1017 without writing any new posts I suggest some small tweaks to your existing post titles:

    10 bits of wisdom I learned from a nude
    51 great similies to spark nudity
    12 surprises I found while marketing my debut as a nudist
    4 surprises and 16 take-aways from the nude writers conference

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Click throughs – I don’t leave links. Reblogged articles – except for one poem, no one does. I don’t have your kind of readership though I do love the ones who visit and comment. You have a built a much admired and respected blog, Jacqui.

    Liked by 2 people

    • These links are usually for resources or when I’m reviewing a book and then sharing their Amazon link or the author’s bona fides. I get so few, I may just leave it off next year. It’s huge on my tech blog–about 30% of readers click through to a resource.

      Liked by 1 person

    • WordDreams is much more of a community than anything else. My tech ed blog is more about resources and pedagogy and I must say, I get quite a bit of work from that approach. I wouldn’t mind reproducing it over here, but can’t figure out how to do that.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I do need to apologize for not always having the computer time to leave comments. Also, not being a professional writer or trying to market a book, I don’t feel qualified to leave a remark. But please know that I do trust your advice and admire your ability.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Jacqui – I’m rather dull … I just love my comments and thus the engagement of other bloggers and as you mention the broadening of my knowledge base on life. I think I need to move to down the road from you – and learn! I will get there … thanks for adding to our techie knowledge – cheers Hilary

    Liked by 2 people

    • The goal of most bloggers is to develop a community. Me, too. I love the camaraderie of the people who visit me here, thoroughly enjoy seeing what they’re up to on their blogs. I consider myself quite lucky.

      Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

