Twenty-four Days

How I’m Doing on Twenty-four Days II

uss bunker hillI’m getting close to launching the sequel to To Hunt a Sub called Twenty-four Days:

A former SEAL, a brilliant scientist, a love-besotted nerd, and a quirky AI have twenty-four days to stop a terrorist attack. The problems: They don’t know what it is, where it is, or who’s involved.

If you read To Hunt a Sub and loved the AI Otto, you’ll be pleased to know that Otto gets not only a voice but a body. Also: Eitan falls in love; the only bad thing that happens to Sandy (the Labrador) is he gets locked in a closet; and another fearless woman is tasked with saving the world.

Twenty-four Days was briefly represented by a wonderful agent who put an awful lot of work into editing and rewriting, making the story tighter and more exciting than when he first became involved. Ultimately, we parted ways, but I’ll always appreciate the time and effort he expended on me.

With a planned publication date of May, here’s how I’m doing.

  • I’ve incorporated the changes suggested by my editor.
  • My cover is completed and will be revealed soon.
  • I’m having banners, logos, and that sort of marketing created, to be used as needed.
  • I’m getting pre-reviews that will inspire readers to purchase.
  • My Kindle Scout campaign launched February 22nd and will last until March 22nd. Here’s the link so you can view and vote (if you’re so inspired). You’ll get to see the wonderful cover that I haven’t yet officially released! Scroll down the page and you’ll see more detail on what Kindle Scout is. Lucky winners there get free publication.
  • I’ll have a blog hop to officially release the book to the world in May. Want to help each other? I’d be happy to trade honest reviews when you promote your book.

For those of you not familiar with a Kindle Scout campaign, it provides a last step prior to self-pubbing and may garner an interested agent or publisher (as it has for at least one efriend). Here’s what you do:

  • upload your completed novel (including cover) to the Kindle Scout website
  • provide detail on the book and yourself
  • provide a preview chapter that potential readers can read and then vote up or not
  • wait a month for voting to conclude
  • wait ‘a few days’ while the nice Kindle Scout folks analyze their data and decide who gets a publishing contract

If you have any steps that help you get your book out, please share in the comments. I am getting ready to launch!

More on Twenty-four Days

Metamaterials and an invisibility cloak

Can a Former SEAL, a Brilliant Scientist, a Love-besotted Nerd and a Quirky AI Stop Terrorists in Twenty-four days?

Stupid Mistakes My Agent Found in My WIP


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. The sequel to To Hunt a Sub, Twenty-four Days, is scheduled for Summer, 2017. Click to follow its progress.

41 thoughts on “How I’m Doing on Twenty-four Days II

      • Sounds good. On Kindle Scout I meant to rate the catch line as excellent – Can a mother’s anger … it does not matter. I thought – hell yeah! So my response means the catch line was more than okay. Was in too much of a hurry. I find those things quite hard to rate – if you are too generous it looks fake, (probably a relative); if too cautious then ‘okay’ seems like saying ‘don’t bother’.

        Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

