Genre tips

Today’s #AtoZChallenge: Kitchen Sink Genre

A to Z Challenge asks bloggers to post every day except Sundays during the month of April on a thematic topic–nothing else. This year, I’ll be covering writing genres.

Today’s genre:

atoz-kKitchen Sink

Definition

A British cultural movement that developed in the late 1950s and early 1960s in theater, art, novels, film and television plays, whose protagonists usually could be described as “angry young men” who were disillusioned with modern society. It used a style of social realism, which depicted the domestic situations of working class Britons, living in cramped rented accommodation and spending their off-hours drinking in grimy pubs, to explore controversial social and political issues ranging from abortion to homelessness. (from Wikipedia)

Tipsa to z

  1. Share a particular social message or ideology with readers.
  2. Bring the real lives and social inequality of ordinary working class people to the book.
  3. Catch these ‘ordinary’ people between struggles of power, industry, and politics.
  4. Depict intimate aspects of domestic life.
  5. The setting is always domestic.
  6. The characters are always angry young men who are dissatisfied with a world that offers no social opportunities.
  7. The characters feel working class domesticity keeps them from improving.
  8. The main character’s anger is usually channeled towards those around him.
  9. Men often dominate women. When conflicts do arise, the man is often portrayed as the suffering protagonist.
  10. Women’s suffering is always a result of the suffering of the male.

Popular Books

I couldn’t find any. These are primarily movies.

Click for complete list of genres


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. The sequel to To Hunt a Sub, Twenty-four Days, is scheduled for May 2017. Click to follow its progress.

64 thoughts on “Today’s #AtoZChallenge: Kitchen Sink Genre

  1. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge Reflection | WordDreams...

  2. I hadn’t heard the name, though I know the sort of film you’re talking about. I had to look at this one, because when I saw the title, what came to my mind was “everything but the kitchen sink,” so I wondered if this was books that try to be everything 🙂

    Rebecca at The Ninja Librarian

    Liked by 1 person

    • We do need a genre that that, but this isn’t. I wonder if that expression — “everything but the kitchen sink” — is strictly American so this British genre (kind of British) didn’t pick up on that.

      Like

  3. This sounds more like frustrated genre than kitchen sink genre, lol. I was thinking, well heck I can write about the kitchen sink that I’m so familiar with, but that description doesn’t seem to fit!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m familiar with the term (it was very popular in theatre at the time) but I still kinda hoped you meant it was a genre where they included EVERY theme and trope to make a mad, confusing mess of drama. Mystery, sci-fi, rom-com, horror, musical, you name it. (Everything but… or maybe including… the kitchen sink)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kitchen sink. Nothing better than to look at a clean sparkling kitchen sink. Nothing worse or more disgusting is to have or see a sink that is not able to be cleaned thoroughly, either due to its material which collects dirt & grime and will not wash clean no matter how much you scrub or wash. I always had a clean sparkling sink until I was evicted out of my house like a bag of trash after 44 years of marriage no money, I had paid for my house but my husband had other ideas for me, he wanted and took every thing I had worked for and did it through lies in a court room, and because his name was on my mortgage which I had paid and bought the house, his name was on it only as we were married. I found out 2 yrs later that was the second house he had stolen from me laughing about it. As I said nothing worse than a dirty sink that smells and you can not clean. Germs grow and thrive on dirt. I prefer clean to dirt.

    ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think I’ve seen plenty of movies like this, Jacqui, but can’t think of a book either. The movies take place in dying steel towns with no hope and they often don’t end well. I’ve never heard of it as a genre. Interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve never heard of this genre before.
    It’s a British cultural movement developed in the late 1950s and early 1960s…so I’m wondering whether it has faded out or is it still prevalent in the theater, art, novels, film world? I’m not much of a television watcher, but I’ve seen some amazing British television shows which provide great entertainment. They have a special breed of humor.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had no idea that the ‘angry young man’ made up the ‘kitchen sink’ – a genre completely new to me. I have to say the KS has been done to death by Bollywood films, can’t think of any books I’ve read that could be classified as such, either in English or in my mother tongue. Loved getting to know! Thanks.

    Nilanjana
    Madly-in-Verse

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m sure there are books of the kitchen sink genre though I too can’t think of any within those strictures … thanks Jacqui. If none, then maybe men could take up the challenge, or a woman writing from male protagonist pov.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

