Genre tips

Today’s #AtoZChallenge: Zombie Fiction

A to Z Challenge asks bloggers to post every day except Sundays during the month of April on a thematic topic–nothing else. This year, I’ll be covering writing genres.

Today’s genre:

atoz-zZombie Fiction

Definition

There are two types of Zombie Fiction that are defined by the cause of zombiism. The first, and most relevant to us, is the Science Fiction side that has a scientific explanation for zombies and often reflects environmental, political, or societal concerns. The second type has a supernatural or magical explanation for zombies.

Tipsa to z

  1. When zombies have a supernatural or magical explanation for their existence, the science is transparent.
  2. While zombies have become a cultural icon, they are rarely the focus of a Zombie story, just the propellants of the plot.
  3. The interesting aspect of Zombie fiction is what happens to humanity and relationships when loved ones are turned to zombies.
  4. Zombie stories focus on how characters react to an extreme, world-altering catastrophe.
  5. Zombie stories have a typical plot: a zombie outbreak occurs causing panic, response from authority figures is slow, zombiism spreads, society collapses, survivors try to stay alive on their own.
  6. Blood, guts, and brains are part of Zombie fiction’s scenery. Zombie stories are about death and surviving the zombie horde—expect guns, baseball bats, and anything else characters can get their hands on to be used as weapons to facilitate their own survival, not all of which may be directed at zombies.

Popular Books

  1. World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War  by Max Brooks
  2. Autumn by David Moody
  3. Patient Zero by  Jonathan Maberry
  4. The Rising by Brian Keene
  5. Cell by Stephen King
  6. Book of the Dead: A Zombie Anthology by  Anthony Giangregorio
  7. The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman and Tony Moore
  8. Monster Island: A Zombie Novel by  David Wellington
  9. I Zombie I by  Jack Wallen

Click for complete list of genres


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thriller, To Hunt a Sub. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. The sequel to To Hunt a Sub, Twenty-four Days, is scheduled for May, 2017. Click to follow its progress.

67 thoughts on “Today’s #AtoZChallenge: Zombie Fiction

  1. One topic I could never get into…although it does raise an interesting sub-topic: why would we (or the author, if you prefer) assume the dead are so angry? Do we hook it up somehow with injustice served upon the living? Just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read much zombie fiction, but watched plenty of movies in that genre. Zombieism makes for a great metaphor as well as scary stories.

    Congratulations on a job well done in April. Thank you for participating in the 2017 A to Z Challenge.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh!! this is listed under horror for me and thankfully I havent read anything of this!! It seriously freaks me out!! I am much happier girl with my fantasy fiction and chi-lit!!!! 🙂
    Jacqui your blog has been such a wonderful read all during this challeneg – congrats for finishing it!! Cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ha ha! No, no rest yet for me. I thought our last post Z was to be today, but when I saw posts up yesterday it clicked – today’s the first of May. So mine went up late last night. Well, it Workers’ Day here so it’s a public holiday and here I am, working away, catching up. No peace for the wicked. Sooo enjoyed your genre posts Jacqui, thank you so much for them. Congratulations and jubilations to you on a very successful A-Z blog challenge. If I don’t see you through the week I’ll see you through the window. Have a lovely May 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The best zombie story ever – World War Z (and I’m not even a zombie fan). But I do understand the relevance behind these stories that go deep into the human psych – survival, and the horror that dramatic physical changes can have on the observer. Well done for going from A-Z, Jacqui! It’s been an enjoyable experience xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hee! Like a car accident. I don’t get it until I get sick of the world, want a complete change.

      Thanks for being so loyal, Heather. I subscribed so I shouldn’t lose track of you.

      Like

  6. A very creepy genre and one I would read only if I were dragged by a creature with large testosterone buds to a room with one zombie book, one light, and nothing else. Even then, I’d only pretend to read. Still, I won’t stop anyone else from writing or reading them.

    A very fun and illuminating series, Jacqui. Thank you for a month of great reading.

    (Um, today is Sunday, but I guess if you’re going to end this with zombies, it’s OK to have one Sunday contribution. 😀 )

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Not a great fan of zombies, or zombie fiction 🙂

    Congratulations on acing the A-Z in such style! It’s amazing the way you’ve found genres to fit all the letters – very educational and entertaining. Learnt a lot from your posts, thanks. And also for the book recos which probably is my fav part 🙂

    Best wishes always,
    Nilanjana

    Liked by 2 people

    • I am surprised I got all the way through, too. Sigh. Thanks for visiting me so often. It made this all so worth it. I wondered if I’d mind all the time, knew I wouldn’t quit because I have a lot of difficulty quitting anything. It turned out a wonderful experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations on completing the challenge! And thanks so much for your visits/comments on my blog. Ironically, the Zombie genre follows the pattern of real-life disasters (Hurricane Katrina, Super-storm Sandy, power outages, and others) where the government is slow to react and residents must fend for themselves while authorities catch up. That said, feeling a bit like a Zombie myself after a month of daily blogging. Will be nice to have a bit of a rest, no? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh, me too! Was this your first year? It was mine and I wasn’t sure I would make it. Surprisingly, most of the people I committed to follow made it!

      You had several posts I really liked–Yearly Rituals. How fun to see in a paragraph what’s important in your year. Thanks for sharing that.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m exhausted. Tomorrow, I’ll be wondering what to do with all my free time.

      I was so impressed with the amount of work you put into your posts. I loved the cover pages–I might borrow that for next year.

      Like

    • I was pretty excited to find ‘zombies’ when I was collecting letters. But really–of course!

      Congrats to you, too, Michelle. Perfect ending–Zen. I’ll close my eyes and think of a waterfall.

      Like

  9. I had never realised that Zombie stories were their own genre. But then I suppose that if we have a vampire genre, we ought to have a zombie genre as well 😉

    Congratulations of completing the challenge! It’s always a great fit. And thanks for shring your knowledge about genres, it was most illuminating ^_^

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

