Born in a Treacherous Time / news / Rowe-Delamagente / writing

My 4 Must-Do Writing Goals This Summer

summerSummer should carry a warning label–Caution! That sense that you have lots of time to get everything done isn’t true! Every year, I start summer with a massive ToDo list, and by August, my good intentions have folded in on themselves like a black hole. This summer, I’m going to be more practical.

In my life, I wear two hats–tech teacher and writer. With a lot of coffee, even more aspirin, and a boatload of good luck, I manage to do both. Here are my top four summer goals:

Online Classes

I love teaching online. I have no idea how long it takes to prepare and manage because everything is done from anywhere I am. I can grade papers from a picnic, have a virtual meeting in a park, and prepare lesson plans on a long drive (as passenger, of course). I love this way of teaching.

Writing

I’m working on two novels. Here’s where I’d like to be by the end of summer:

Born in a Treacherous Time

This is my early man novel, scheduled to publish next Spring. I’m in the editing phase, working with Autocrit and Grammarly, reading it aloud and backwards. By the end of summer, I hope to have it to the pros for fine tuning (or finding big mistakes).

Book 3 of Rowe-Delamagente

I hope to finish outlining by September. So far, the storyline includes travels to exotic places, an AI battle, satellites, an errant drone, child soldiers, friendship, and love. Stand by to see how I blend all that into a cohesive story (I hope).

 

Conferences

I’m going to one in July sponsored by Teachers Pay Teachers. It supports my technology book sales. I’m excited mostly because this group is so darn creative. They figure out lots of great marketing ideas; I just hang on.

Maintenance

I need to clean up my blogs–re categorize posts, fix broken links, that sort. I started in Spring, but my tech teaching blog has thousands of links. It’ll take me all of summer to clean them up.

***

That’s the business end of my summer. The highlight will be a visit from my son. We’re planning a short road trip and a lot of movies. I can’t wait.

What are your summer plans?

More on summer writing:

10 Digital Tricks to Add Zip to Your Roadtrip

Forget Summer Reading. The Classics are Timeless

5 Top Steps to Market Your Books this Summer


Jacqui Murray has been teaching K-8 technology for 20 years. She is the editor/author of over a hundred tech ed resources including a K-8 technology curriculum, K-8 keyboard curriculum, K-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum. She is an adjunct professor in tech ed, CSG Master Teacher, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice reviewer, CAEP reviewer, CSTA presentation reviewer, freelance journalist on tech ed topics, and a weekly contributor to TeachHUB. You can find her resources at Structured Learning. Read Jacqui’s tech thriller series, To Hunt a Sub and Twenty-four Days.

57 thoughts on “My 4 Must-Do Writing Goals This Summer

  1. Jacqui, you’re like the energizer bunny! In the blink of an eye, the summer will be gone! I’ve many mega odds and ends I want to get cleaned up, and finish writing my next book and in between I wouldn’t mind some personal time out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqui, I am happy to have met you and been introduced to your many accomplishments. I am eager to read and learn from you other great writing, tech and marketing tips. Hope you have a great summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Remember what summer felt like as a kid — a vast, endless ocean of time? Not so much anymore; it all goes by so fast. But I think having and setting seasonal goals is a good practice; good luck achieving them, Jacqui! I trust you’ll do a follow-up post in September with a progress report…?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember you inspired me to tidy up my blog last year…I might well have a go again! Enjoy editing in your man novel and outlining the third in the series. A good plan to have a range of activities to switch between. Have a great time at the conference!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have only three tasks related to writing. 1. Get serious about editing and rewriting the one book I have finished the first draft on. 2. Get busy with the preliminary setup of a book I believe I NEED to write. 3. It is the same as your fourth goal, clean up my blog.

    In addition, husband and I are going to be going through drawers and closets getting rid of whatever we do not need. O_o

    Liked by 1 person

      • That is exactly why we are going to be doing it. For instance, I believe I still have some floppy disks laying in the bottom of some drawer. I know for certain we have movies in the closet we are not interested in anymore. The list goes on too because we have moved so many times. Each time we have gotten rid of some of the garbage but because of uncertainty, some moved with us. :/

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I hear you. I always assume those lovely long summer days will allow me to get more done. In fact the opposite is true, as my work (horse training) expands to fill daylight hours. That leaves me with little time to do anything else, like write!
    I have managed to polish a short story and start a new novel this week, so feeling virtuous. I’ve also started the blog clear up task that you have – I need to create a more rationalised set of pages for more clear navigation, which means both creating new pages, and also a second blog (to be more of a static website) to host some of the others. Still trying to get my head around organising it all so I don’t have to have more than one attempt at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am hoping by the end of the summer to have my summer goals ready for review and I am going to a writer’s conference in August and am starting a new writing project and want to make progress on my current projects. I also think I should learn a bit more about run on sentences…

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Sounds like a very productive summer. My plans are to investigate alternative ways to increase my income since my transcription business is withering before my very eyes. My creative juices are running rampant in my head and I have to channel them into more productive outlets!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Frustrating and a bit scary since I’m 62. I really don’t want to have to go out and try and find a “real” job after working for myself from home for the last 16 years! I am using my word of the year (Believe) to its fullest capacity!

        Liked by 1 person

    • When I was pregnant–and if I’m being honest, for the next 15 years–all I tried to do was survive. Not unhappy to be past all that. And you’re doing great with that surviving thing!

      Like

  9. Hi Jacqui – lots going on … and I bet you’re looking forward to seeing your son and those movies – enjoy … then the conference – that’s great you get so much from it – great minds create ideas … cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

