I love the USA

Happy July 4th!

july 4thIt’s America’s birthday and I’m celebrating. My Army Sergeant son is visiting, in preparation for going to Japan–Okinawa. My Navy Lieutenant daughter’s still in the DC area but moving on to a new job with the Navy. Usually she calls 4-7 times a week. Soon, it will be much less. Sigh. I’m here, thanking both of them and all those soldiers who fought for America’s uncertain future so long ago.

God be with all of us.



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thrillers, To Hunt a Sub and  Twenty-four DaysShe is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

61 thoughts on “Happy July 4th!

  1. I’ve thought of you several times, with your children in uniform, when I hear of one plan or another coming out of of the mouths of leaders that don’t have a complete understanding of what they are setting our country up for engagement.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jacqui – hope you had a wonderful time with your son, while some lovely phone calls coming in from your daughter …while she’s still able to call so often. Brilliant they are both serving … cheers to you and them for their futures – Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did get a valuable call from her yesterday, the first day on her new job. She knew I’d be worried and even though I could tell she was exhausted, she called. I love that girl.

      Like

  3. You can be doubly proud that both your children are serving their country. Thank them for their service, please. God bless the USA as Lee Greenwood’s song goes. It is good to be an American. I hope today’s youth know enough history to recall July 4, 1776 and the events leading up to it. Thanks for this lovely post. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqui, I enjoyed each of the videos and I thank you for sharing them. But – the one of the homeless man saving the flag gave me chills!! One we ALL should see, understand and respect!!
    Give my very best to your two wonderful children who have grown up to be the sort of people who have the character that helped to make this country as great as it is!!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

