Born in a Treacherous Time

Writing a Novel: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time I

editing my wipI thought I’d give monthly updates on my progress with my next novel, Born in a Treacherous Time:

A band of early humans struggle to survive a world where violence and chaos rule.  Think Man vs Wild rather than National Geographic.

With a planned publication date of May-June, here’s how I’m doing.

  • I’ve completed substantive changes like checking timelines, plot points, and character development.
  • I’m self-editing using Grammarly and Autocrit, in preparation for submittal to my editor. This includes spelling, grammar, word use, adverbs, dialogue tags, and more.
  • I haven’t even considered a cover yet. I have no idea what it would be and I need to provide some sort of idea to the talented folks at Paper and Sage.
  • I’m considering calling this a spin-off of To Hunt a Sub which has a secondary plot about a paleolithic female (named Lucy) who the main character (Kali) turns to for mentoring and support as she struggles with her modern-day problems. Born in a Treacherous Time is Lucy’s story, how she copes with the same problems we all do though with very different tools at her disposal. But, most of the reviews on To Hunt a Sub don’t mention Lucy so I wonder if she’s relevant enough to be considered a spin-off. Any thoughts?
  • I have a few writers I’d like to contact for recommendations who wrote wonderful books in this genre–paleohistoric fiction. If you have ideas for me on that sort of writer, let me know!

This is a start. I’ll let you know how it goes next month!

More on Born in a Treacherous Time:

My Research at the Library of Congress 

My First Piece of Writing

Book Review: Lucy


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thrillers, To Hunt a Sub and  Twenty-four DaysShe is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

90 thoughts on “Writing a Novel: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time I

  1. Pingback: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time III | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time II | WordDreams...

  3. I like how you make yourself accountable to readers regarding your book writing progress. That’s great. I just finished reading “Twenty-Four Days” and I don’t recall Lucy as a character so I’m thinking she appears only in “To Hunt a Sub.” So sorry I can’t help with that feedback but I did fall in love with Otto!
    .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqui, you seem very organised with your latest novel and good luck with the editing. I’m process of going through my short story collection and want to use Grammarly which I have but doesn’t seem to work in scrivener…should it be usable there?

    I definitely think this would work as a spin-off and it’s a great way to launch the latest book – bringing in your earlier ones and also bringing in readers already familiar with this series. Go for it!

    Haha! paleohistoric fiction! Well, that is not a huge area of fiction…let us know how the hunt for any goes? 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ve gotten lots of advice from other fans about whether or not to promote this as a spin-off, and I don’t think I have anything more substantive to offer. I’m just excited for the book to be published, and am really hoping it will be available in paperback.

    As for covers, maybe wander through the “book store” and see what other books in same genre capture your imagination. Don’t copy but consider what strikes you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Jacqui,

    You might want to look at what I consider to be the two finest books on the same subject, both by anthropologist and novelist Elizabeth Marshall Thomas: Animal Wife and Reindeer Moon. They have recently, at my suggestion been put on Kindle. She is an amazing writer, now in her 80s. Incredibly scientifically accurate.

    Mike Bond

    Liked by 2 people

    • I just ordered them from the library. Good to hear you like them. I’ve spent a lot of time looking for the Margaret Meade and Jane Goodell of paleoanthro and am hoping that’s Thomas. Donald Johanson and Von Koenigswald are quite entertaining but also quite factual. They didn’t want to extrapolate too far from their discoveries. Of course, in fiction, that’s exactly what we do!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Not a spin off. It’s too hard to sell the idea of a tangential plot line, especially if they occur in entirely different eras. Sub seekers would be disappointed, and you’d miss out on better paleo marketing. (But focus on what they ate and you might get paleo dieters.)

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Wow I am suer duper impressed by the plot; is Kali inspired by the Hindu Goddess of the same name and fame? I am quite unaware of this genre of fiction and infact this is new for me to read up – hope to catch it when its published. All the best with the writing/ page design and other things! I am sure this will be a runaway success…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ohhh, I understand what you’re going through. You’re doing GREAT! I’m working on my next novel As Lovely as a Lie. It’s difficult, going back to the writing, the re-drafting, the new outlining (I outline as I write chapters, crazy but seems to work for me). Anyway, my writing muse salutes your writing muse!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Jacqui – I was going to say it’s a long link ‘spin-off’ … but Ateafan has different ideas … and of course how you tag them together or not will make your cover decision not easy – unless it can easily be tied in with your present covers. Well done on doing as much editing as you can – must make editors life easier … cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

