Born in a Treacherous Time / writing

How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time II

historic fictionI’m watching the countdown in my sidebar wondering if I will have an on-time launch of my latest WIP, historic fiction Born in a Treacherous Time:

A band of early humans struggle to survive a world where violence, hunger, death, and chaos are the norm.  Think Man vs Wild rather than 1 Million BC.

If you read To Hunt a Sub and loved Lucy (the ancient female who mentored the female protagonist), this is her story. You find out how she gave up everything for her unborn child, survived a violent world using only her wits, and found an unusual band of likewise abandoned creatures who would shape her future.

With a planned publication date of May-June, here’s how I’m doing.

  • I’m still working on substantive editing, mostly wordsmithing at this point. Because these edits might mess up other parts of the book, I’ll be re-checking timelines, plot points, and character development.
  • The cover on this post (the inset) is simply a placesaver. I do love Lucy’s intense gaze in this image from the San Diego Museum of Natural History though.

I feel a bit guilty posting when I haven’t gotten anything done since the last update. Well, I did promise to keep you updated. A happy side-effect of wasting your time is that if you too are slogging through editing a novel, I know exactly how you feel!

More on Born in a Treacherous Time

How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time I

How do you World-Build?

My Research at the Library of Congress 


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thrillers, To Hunt a Sub and  Twenty-four DaysShe is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

47 thoughts on “How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time II

  1. Pingback: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time III | WordDreams...

  2. I’d hardly call that “slogging” when you have a million other projects you’re also working on, but I do know how you feel and it’s tough to watch the clock ticking. Good luck Jacqui! I know you’re going to pull it through!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I set aside the phrase editing for audio editing (listening to my story and fixing problems in that way). I’m pleasantly surprised how effective the phrase editing has been for fixing the story problems. It gives me hope!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time II — WordDreams… | SHINE MOVIE'S

  4. Those substantial edits are slogs, and you’re so right that there is tons of material that has to be cross-checked for consistency – changes have ripples! I’m still in first draft, but I feel for you. Keep going and Happy Writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cheering you on over here. I know you’ll do great! I’m still slogging through the first draft of mine. I hope to get to page 85 today. The good news is, it’s a middle grade, so it’ll only be 130 pages or so…which puts me at the halfway point. That middle section always gets me, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You know I’m slogging through but you’re making much more progress. And I know you aren’t wasting time – that isn’t possible for you. It may seem you aren’t where you want to be but you’re going to get there. Best wishes, Jacqui.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Snap! 😀 I’m editing away…and finding the hours fly by far too fast but enjoying myself a lot! I want to say thanks again for recommending Natural Reader – it is proving invaluable and I’m using it as the final edit tool!

    It seems you are making great headway with your latest book and when I work on my novel I’m finding the timeline is affected by edits…a bit of a nightmare! When you need a calming moment, just look at Lucy’s gaze from the temporary cover of your book…I feel she’s trying to tell us something. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Hi Jacqui – the thing is you are progressing and that’s the important thing … you’re thinking ahead and planning the launch etc … so much mulling goes into writing etc … it’ll all be worth it – cheers Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time II | Matthews' Blog

  10. Pingback: How I’m Doing on Born in a Treacherous Time II | Matthews' Blog

  11. Jacqui, I wish you patience and success with your editing of “Born in a Treacherous time”.
    There are a number of you struggling like this now and I know it is brave but like all things worth while in the end. No slacking, just keep going.😊🦋 .
    Miriam

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

