Genre tips

Genres Genres Genres!

a to zFor last years’s A to Z Challenge, I decided to focus on literary genres. I easily found one for every letter of the alphabet. In fact, in most cases I had to pick from several despite both being fascinating categories. Because of that, I’m going to do Genres II for this year’s A to Z.

But

I do have a few letters I don’t have genres for:

I–I already used Inspirational so I need a different one.

K–I already used Kitchen Sink so I need a different one.

Q–I already used Quiet Horror so I need a different one.

Any suggestions?


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, and the thrillers, To Hunt a Sub and  Twenty-four DaysShe is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

47 thoughts on “Genres Genres Genres!

  1. Jacqui, this is one heck of a challenge and I was in awe of the work you undertook this year…I’ve read all the great comments and suggestions and am only coming up with silly ideas…can’t wait to see what you decide on. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jacqui – well thankfully some have their brains in gear for you … I don’t know whether Icy … or Queenly would fit and K for Kulture … would do – cheers though – Hilary

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How about Imaginary Voyage (satirical representation in a fictional travel story) for I, Kusazōshi (Japanese woodblock lit) for K, or Quantum Fiction (modern experience influenced by quantum theory/physics) or Quasida (Arabic poetry) for Q? I really enjoy your posts, as a beginner blogger. All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

      • A lady we knew ran a local quilt shop for many years and then starting writing. Her first book was murder mystery with quilts a featured element. Movies, like “An American Quilt” and books like “The Prussian Pickle Club” have also had quilts as a major element. Quilts and quilt makes have a symbology that make for interesting story lines mostly focused around women’s lives and their families.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

