writers / writing

#IWSG — No to NaNoWriMo

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s insecurity – NOT doing NaNoWriMo.

I have 16 reasons. I posted them earlier but because I’m feeling insecure about my decision, I’ll post them again. Tell me where I’m wrong!

  1. I don’t believe in miracles.
  2. To rephrase Ashton Kutcher, NaNoWriMo looks an awful lot like work.
  3. I have to wash my hair (Is that excuse ever believable?).
  4. To rephrase Winston Churchill, It has all the virtues I dislike (hard work, cerebral endeavor, camaraderie) and none of the vices I admire (sloth, perspicacity, wordiness).
  5. Some books get clearer the more words you put into them; mine just gets longer.
  6. The ribbon broke on my typewriter (who knows what I’m talking about?).
  7. I have to get ready for Thanksgiving.
  8. My protagonist’s on strike.
  9. My muse is on vacation.
  10. I don’t have anything to wear.
  11. I hate being pressured more than I hate editing.
  12. Writing a novel in 30 days is one of the things I do best–along with finding needles in haystacks.
  13. I asked my husband if he’d support me in my endeavor. He said, Sure, in the tone of voice he uses to tell me the dog’s butt needs detailing.
  14. Of course not. I don’t have to leap into a fire pit to know I’ll get burned.
  15. I like deadlines as much as sticking my tongue on a block of ice.
  16. Participating in NaNoWriMo doesn’t beat hitting golf balls in sand traps.

More IWSG articles:

None of My Marketing Seems to Work

Beta Reader? Or not?

Am I surprised by my writing?


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy, the Rowe-Delamagente thrillers, and the upcoming Born in a Treacherous Time. She is also the author/editor of over a hundred books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for four blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for TeachHUB, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning.

56 thoughts on “#IWSG — No to NaNoWriMo

  1. HI Jacqui, I don’t think it is necessary to kill yourself for one month trying to reach a writing target. It is much better to be a disciplined person and plan your time and writing and get it done according to a schedule which is not unduly stressed. This works for me as I work full time and could never commit to banging out an additional 50k words in a month. I wouldn’t want to anyway. Everyone finds their own pace and what works for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am doing NaNoWriMo this month…technically. I have pages on top of pages of this awesome plot for 5 books! And no words. And no motivation to write said words. No. None. My muse, my protagonist, my villain, my supporting characters, my fairy-freaking godmother…all on strike! So, maybe I should have said no to NaNoWriMo. Loved your post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A lot details interest me; thankful for Ashton K.. The Butterfly Effect with whom turned out the lights its red graves ghost. cues played so well – fit in your category. As might well Julia Andrews & 36 yrs. credits The Sound Of Music.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi … I’m new here. But could someone please explain to me what the hell is NaNoWriMo?
    Whatever happened to English? However, I enjoyed your post. I could add a few more excuses (stolen from the Blues Brothers movie).
    1) My tux didn’t come back from the cleaners.
    2) I had a flat tire.
    3) I ran outta gas.
    4) I had no money for cab fare.
    5) An old friend came in from out of town.
    6) There was an earthquake.
    7) There was a flood.
    8) Locust!
    9) It wasn’t my fault!!
    10) The dog ate my computer!!! (this one is mine.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wait… How is perspicacity a vice? 🙂

    You don’t need a list of justifications for not doing NaNoWriMo. People were writing books before NaNoWriMo started up, right? On typewriters, even! Odin knows, I love me my typewriters, but I also love computers and the cloud. Then again, I’m a passionate advocate of fountain pens. So, yeah. Do whatever you want and don’t feel bad about it for one second. Happy writing to you, and may your muse pester you nonstop all month long. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s no wrong or right, Jacqui. Some people love the pressure, others not. For some, the timing works, for others not. Some enjoy the hype, others not. For some, it provides the kick in the pants that others don’t need. The important thing is honoring your desire to write, whatever that looks like. It’s all good. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I don’t think anyone should have to justify not doing NaNo! If it doesn’t work for you, shrug and move on to something that does. In my case, it works, but that’s not where I am this fall, so I’m skipping it without remorse.
    —Rebecca
    My IWSG Post

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love your reasons! #8 and #9 fit me; followed appropriately by #3. That’s always a good excuse. I occasionally use that I have to bake a cake, or cookies, or whatever.
    I’ve never tried NaNo, but I’ve always thought it was a nice idea. I plan to try to write faster simply because I have a goal now. Harlequin Romance is looking for writers. I’ve always enjoyed their books and think I can write to fit them.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m sure you have an excellent reason for not doing NaNo this year — other than having to wash your hair 😉 I’m not doing NaNo either and I’ve been feeling kind of guilty for that decision, but I’ve decided that concentrating on rewrites and doing it properly is more important than hitting a word count goal. The decision has been made, so relax and keep to your regular writing schedule 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

